Find the answer to your Linux question:
I bought a no-name, (literally there is no name on the device or on the box), wireless USB. It says it can be used in windows or linux, and has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Wireless USB setup help needed.

I bought a no-name, (literally there is no name on the device or on the box), wireless USB. It says it can be used in windows or linux, and has a mini-disk with windows and linux drivers. What I cant figure out, is how to load the drivers from the mini-disk into Kubuntu on my desktop, or DSL on my laptop.

In Kubuntu, it appears to be setup, and sees my network, but Firefox can't find the server.

In DSL, it doesn't find any wifi signals.

I am a newbie, and not quite sure what I need to do to get it to work. Thanks for any help you can give me.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    What Linux distribution+version+kernel are you running?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

The laptop has the latest version of damn small linux, current.iso. The desktop has Kubuntu 10.04. Both are installed on the HD, not run as live CD.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    So, did you try to install the Linux driver? Are you sure it was for a compatible kernel to what you use? Did it build a kernel module for your OS, or was the kernel module pre-packaged?

I'm so green, I don't know how to answer those questions. It came with a mini-cd, which had drivers for different windows flavors and one marked linux. I clicked on linux and it brought up a menu for diferent models (Mine is RT2070). I am using it on 2 different computers.