Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, I hope this is in the correct area. I had Linux Mint installed and it became subject to random freezes. The system was never under any serious strain at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4

    Random freezes in Ubuntu, Sabayon and others


    Hi,

    I hope this is in the correct area. I had Linux Mint installed and it became subject to random freezes. The system was never under any serious strain at the times that this occurred. I went to the Ubuntu forums and discovered that this is a relatively common problem with Ubuntu and that there's no fix available. I tried almost all advice offered there, without any remedy. These included disabling Flash, Java, Compiz, Nvidia drivers etc etc.

    I decided to try another distro. Since then I've had random freezes in Suse, Sabayon and even with a Fedora live disc. Oddly enough, I never have this issue with Win 7 (I dual boot). If this is a hardware problem, why does it never occur under Win 7? If it is, as I suspect a hardware issue, how can I identify the source of the problem and resolve it?

    Any help/suggestions/advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    Bad RAM, probably. Swap modules around and see if problem persists. Windows and Linux use different memory regions to load OS in.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the speedy response. I won't get an opportunity to get at this until tomorrow night at the earliest. I'll let you know what happens.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Which Linux distro are you using right now? Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    On the advice of a coworker, I removed and reseated the RAM. No freezes so far but as the freezes were random, it's too early to tell.

    Here's my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file:

    Section "Module"
    SubSection "extmod"
    Option "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection
    Load "i2c"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "vbe"
    Load "dri"
    Load "glx"
    Load "synaptics"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Generic Monitor"
    VertRefresh 43 - 60
    HorizSync 28 - 80
    EndSection


    Section "Device"

    Identifier "SabayonVga0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    #BusID "PCI:01:00"
    #Option "RenderAccel" "on"
    #Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    #Option "BusType" "PCI"
    #Option "ColorTiling" "on"
    #Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
    Option "UseEvents" "True"
    Option "LogoPath" "/usr/share/backgrounds/sabayonlinux-nvidia.png"

    EndSection



    Section "Screen"

    Identifier "Screen 0"
    Device "SabayonVga0"
    Monitor "Generic Monitor"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

    DefaultDepth 24

    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    ViewPort 0 0
    #Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    ViewPort 0 0
    #Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    ViewPort 0 0
    #Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Main Layout"
    Screen 0 "Screen 0"
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    #Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    What type of Monitor do you have? Resolutions listed in your xorg.conf file are low. Doesn't your Monitor support more than 1024x768 resolution?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    I have a 1920 x 1080 monitor and all is well with that, effects enabled etc. I don't know why it's not listed.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Check Refresh Rates (HorizSync and VertRefresh)supported by your Monitor and edit xorg.conf file accordingly.
    VertRefresh 43 - 60
    HorizSync 28 - 80
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •