Find the answer to your Linux question:
I think the subject speaks for itself, so let me get right down to the details. First, the hardware: Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Premium nForce 4 SLI CPU: AMD Athlon 64 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems installing any distro of Linux -- possible hardware issue?

I think the subject speaks for itself, so let me get right down to the details. First, the hardware:

Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLI Premium nForce 4 SLI
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400
    RAM: 2 GB OCZ DDR400
    Videocard: BFG GeForce 7800 GT 256MB
    HDD: Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6L200S0
    Optical Drive: Lite-On 16x DVD+/-R Burner Model SOHW-16935
    NIC: Linksys WMP54G v4.1

Now, here's the issue. I'm fairly new to Linux, but I have installed various distros on other computers without problems, so for the most part, I know what I'm doing. The computer listed above I've had sitting around for quite some time and I want to turn into a "full-time" Linux machine. I had OpenSuse 11.3 64-bit installed (had some problems with it, which I'll come back to later), but I didn't like it so I wanted to install something else. I decided to go ahead with Ubuntu 10.10 32-bit.