Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm very new to linux and would like to build a 64-bit file server to backup my pc and laptop, I would also like it to have HTPC ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

64-bit file server with HTPC capabilities

Hi all,

I'm very new to linux and would like to build a 64-bit file server to backup my pc and laptop, I would also like it to have HTPC capabilities because it will be stored in my "man cave", where me and mates seem to hang out a fair bit.

I've never built an AMD system before and would like this build to be AMD.

This is what I've come up with so far:

64-bit system:

Case: Thermaltake V3 with 450W PSU
    CPU: Athlon II x2 255 3.1GHz
    Mobo: ASRock 880GXH-USB3
    HDD: WD Green 500Gb for OS, 2x Samsung EcoGreen 2Tb for storage (one will be kept off site)
    Memory: 1x Corsair CMV4GX3M1A1333C9 4Gb DDR3
    Optical Drive: Samsung SH-B123A (Blu-ray player/DVD burner)
    Wifi: TP-Link TL-WN851N
    Tuner: Leadtek Winfast PxDVR 3200H PCIe
    Graphics: On board
    Sound: On board

I'm not sure about all this being compatible with linux, like the tuner, but I have read that you can get this working.

I'm on a pretty tight budget so I can't upgrade to higher end components, but would like suggestions on components where I could save a few $$ or if any of these components are overkill.

Thanks for looking,
    Cheers.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.