Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi Guys, I have an HP Proliant DL385 G2 server running on linux and I want to add a NIC card and an HBA card. I tried to find out ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Riser Card: PCI, PCI-X, PCI-Express


    Hi Guys,

    I have an HP Proliant DL385 G2 server running on linux and I want to add a NIC card and an HBA card. I tried to find out which format is supported so I logged in via root and used the command lspci

    I got the following output:
    00:03.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc ES1000 (rev 02)
    00:04.0 System peripheral: Compaq Computer Corporation Integrated Lights Out Con troller (rev 03)
    00:04.2 System peripheral: Compaq Computer Corporation Integrated Lights Out Pr ocessor (rev 03)
    00:04.4 USB Controller: Hewlett-Packard Company Proliant iLO2 virtual USB contro ller
    00:04.6 IPMI SMIC interface: Hewlett-Packard Company Proliant iLO2 virtual UART
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] PCI/PCI-X Bridge
    00:06.0 Host bridge: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] Legacy South Bridge
    00:06.1 IDE interface: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] IDE
    00:06.2 ISA bridge: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] LPC
    00:07.0 USB Controller: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] USB (rev 01)
    00:07.1 USB Controller: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] USB (rev 01)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] USB (rev 01)
    00:0f.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    00:10.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    00:11.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    00:12.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    00:13.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra nsport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con troller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella neous Control
    00:19.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra nsport Technology Configuration
    00:19.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:19.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con troller
    00:19.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella neous Control
    01:0d.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5785 [HT1000] PCI/PCI-X Bridge (rev c0)
    03:00.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom EPB PCI-Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev c3)
    04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme II BCM5708 Gigabit E thernet (rev 12)
    0b:00.0 RAID bus controller: Hewlett-Packard Company Smart Array Controller (rev 03)
    40:0f.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    40:10.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    40:11.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    40:12.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    40:13.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom HT2100 PCI-Express Bridge (rev a2)
    41:00.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom EPB PCI-Express to PCI-X Bridge (rev c3)
    42:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme II BCM5708 Gigabit E thernet (rev 12)
    46:00.0 RAID bus controller: Hewlett-Packard Company Smart Array Controller (rev
    Does this mean PCI-Express devices will work?
    The riser card has 3 slots.

    Or are there any other commands that would giv eme a specific answer.

    Regards,

    Rodders
    Last edited by Rodders; 01-10-2011 at 01:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    I think our DL385 G2 servers have 2 PCIE x16 and 2 PCIE x8 slots.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    93
    You are asking a hardware question which can not be answered by software inquiries. Best to open the box and look inside.

    Or find a comprehensive hardware manual for that model of computer.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    quickespescs

    The HP support page is one of the best you can find on the web.
    Here the quickespescs of your server:
    h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12565_na/12565_na.HTML

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Guys. I was worried I was taking incompatible components.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •