Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm new to Linux So I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 AMD 64. I'm trying to load the driver cd for a Lexmark X5650 All-In-One and the cd shows up but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lexmark Printer

I'm new to Linux So I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 AMD 64. I'm trying to load the driver cd for a Lexmark X5650 All-In-One and the cd shows up but won't auto install. I double click on it and the files show up but I don't know what to do from there. I went on the Lexmark site and it shows two drivers for Linux. Redhat Package Manager and Debian Package Manager. Which one do I need ? My printer is not listed in the driver database. Thanks

Did you see any Linux drivers on the CD? The Debian packages are the ones you want. Do you have CUPS installed? See this link.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/6.06/ubuntu/...de/C/cups.html
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the quick response. No the cd doesn't have any Linux drivers on it. I looked at the link page and I'm not too sharp yet on command prompts. I don't know if that's something I should try right now. If I download the drivers for Debian will that be good enough or no?

Edit: I looked at the Debian driver package on the Lexmark site and It looks to complicated for me to mess with. I have two hard drives in my computer and I have Linux on one and windows on the other. I'm not a programmer or such so it's easier if I just use the hard drive with windows on it I guess if I want to print something.
    Last edited by bobcat331; 01-16-2011 at 11:29 AM.

Just Joined!