Find the answer to your Linux question:
First of all, thanks for reading this. I'm a complete newbie to the world of PC and Linux. Have never owned PC hardware, in fact. I'm proficient in Mac OS ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which of these two configurations should I choose?

First of all, thanks for reading this.

I'm a complete newbie to the world of PC and Linux. Have never owned PC hardware, in fact. I'm proficient in Mac OS X.

I am to buy a new PC, where I intend to run Linux, but on the first partition I'd install Win2000 or XP because of two damn programs I need, and I don't know if Wine will cope with them.

Anyway, I have to choose between the following two configurations. Which one is the most linux compatible?

Configuration A:
    * AMD 64 3000+ S-754
    * MB: AMD GigaByte GA-K8NS S-754

Configuration B:
    * Pentium 4 3GHz S-478
    * MB: ASUS P4P800 I685PE S-478

Common hardware for both of them :
    * 2 x 512 MB DDR400 Kingston
    * S-ATA 160 GB Seagate (serial ATA)
    * GeForce FX5200 128 MB
    * DVD Writer LG GSA-4160B

I'm mainly interested in knowing if there's a recognized incompatibility between any of the above components and Linux. As distros, I intend to install Mepis, Gentoo and Fedora in the S-ATA drive, to have apt-get, portage and rpm.

The first question that comes to my mind is: are the two motherboards fully Linux compatible? I/O connectors, chipsets, BIOS, network ports and so on...

Another one: is it worth going for a SATA drive, or the regular ATA version won't make any noticeable difference?

I don't mind if Linux does not take advantage yet from a 64-bit processor. Instead, is a 64-bit processor gonna give me headaches, or will it work as a perfectly regular 32-bit?

I've looked in www.tlpd.org, but I can't find either MoBo on it, nor any of the other components.