Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! I am new to Linux, using Ubuntu 9.04. I need to gather data from an Agilent Digital Multimeter model 34410A. So, I am looking for an API to do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

API for Agilent Digital Multimeter

Hello!

I am new to Linux, using Ubuntu 9.04. I need to gather data from an Agilent Digital Multimeter model 34410A. So, I am looking for an API to do so. I am having a lot of trouble understanding some of the material I found through some Google searches, such as information about "USBTMC". I do not even know if it is relevant for my goal.

Basically, I want to be able to take some readings from the multimeter and output them into the terminal. I just need some IO commands to do so.

Would be very grateful for any information. Hopefully this is in the correct forum.

Thank you.

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    From what I read, this device uses SCPI (Standard Commands for Programmable Instruments), an ASCII (text) based command language. From this, I would assume that when you plug it in to the USB port on your computer, it presents a standard serial usb interface, which is something that you can use normal I/O functions to communicate with if you are writing your own programs, or can use something like the minicom terminal emulator to manually communicate with the device. In any case, you need to know about SCPI and the commands/options this device supports. Here is a link to the SCPI command syntax guide: http://www.home.agilent.com/agilent/...5.536908384.00
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!