Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm not 100% sure but I think my hard drive has some unusable sections, which is causing all my linux installation attempts to fail. If I'm right about the problem, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Corrupted hard drive, still usable at all?

I'm not 100% sure but I think my hard drive has some unusable sections, which is causing all my linux installation attempts to fail. If I'm right about the problem, is there any way to isolate these bad sections and install a Linux distro on the remaining working parts?

I'm a total newb, btw.

oz
    forum.guy
    You can check the status of your drive with utilities like SMART and/or the diagnostics utility provided specifically by your drive maker. When a hard disk starts gathering repeated bad sectors, it's time to backup your data and move it to another drive. If you are lucky, you might have some warranty period left on the drive and can exchange it for another one through your drive manufacturer.

Check the drive maker's website for details regarding warranty periods and their exchange process for drives.
    oz

Just Joined!
    So my hard drive is garbage? That sucks, I'll use a utility to check it just in case, but its probably garbage. Thanks for the reply. Hopefully I have some kind of warranty on it.

Corrupted Hard Drive, still usable at all?

Find and download MHDD on a computer that works. Make a bootable CD out of it like you would with a live Linux distro. (It comes as an "iso").

Put your CD in the drive and set the computer to boot from MHDD.
    It will graph the hard drive by sectors. It also remaps bad sectors so you may still be able to use the hard drive, if not so many sectors are bad.

Canine,
    MHDD sounds like a good idea. Need to check that out myself.