Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi can any body help me with this, will be thank full kernel: sd 0:0:0:0: SCSI error: return code = 0x08000002 kernel: sda: Current: sense key: Medium Error kernel: Add. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6

    kernel: sd 0:0:0:0: SCSI error: return code = 0x08000002


    Hi
    can any body help me with this, will be thank full


    kernel: sd 0:0:0:0: SCSI error: return code = 0x08000002
    kernel: sda: Current: sense key: Medium Error
    kernel: Add. Sense: Read retries exhausted
    kernel:
    kernel: Info fld=0x855de86
    kernel: end_request: I/O error, dev sda, sector 139845254

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,345
    The disk sda seems broken.
    If this is a raid >= 1 then find out the exact disk via the raidtools and replace it,
    if not, try to safe as much data as possible before you replace th disk.
    Last edited by Irithori; 08-28-2011 at 10:45 PM.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    i just have only 1 drive which is sda, there is no other hardrive present... everything works fine except i cannot repair the sql database present in it.. whenever i try to repair the database it gives error "end_request: I/O error, dev sda, sector 139845254"

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,345
    Again: Because the disk sda is broken.
    You need to
    - copy any unsaved data (if still possible)
    - replace the disk
    - restore data
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    thanks bro
    but i was wondering if there is a way as if i take data on that sector and put it on some other sector.... coz it is still working fine from 3 to 4 days as i rebooted the system several times...

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,345
    Modern harddiscs do that on their own. To a certain degree.
    But once these sector errors appear on OS level (ie: the disc logic cannot deal with them anymore), it is urgent to get a new disc.
    You can check before and periodically by monitoring S.M.A.R.T.
    It enables you to act before data gets corrupted.
    Also: A raid would have avoided reinstall/restore from backup.

    The disc will not magically heal. If anything, it will get worse.
    Your backup works, right?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    thanks again Bro for your precious time...
    my backup will not work on new HDD i have to reinstall it all thats why i m curious to make this HDD work fine. i searched alot about it, i have found these
    sg_verify: to check for the health of a sector
    sg_reassign: to remap a dead sector to one from the good sector list

    but i dont know how to work around it...
    the link for aabove article is as follows.
    masterzen.fr/2009/02/01/the-curse-of-bad-blocks-is-no-more/

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,345
    I believe, this procedure will only have a temporary effect.
    And a chance of further damage.

    You say, you have a backup.
    In this situation, I would kickstart a new machine and restore the data there.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    6
    what about smartmontools? will they work for this situation or anything is helpless...........?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •