Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
My laptop (Dell Latitude E6320) has a modular bay and I have a battery module to use with that. I used to have an older version in which the modular ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5

    Question Designating battery #1


    My laptop (Dell Latitude E6320) has a modular bay and I have a battery module to use with that. I used to have an older version in which the modular bay battery was used first by the system, so when it ran out I could remove it and use the modular bay for other modules. My current machine does it the other way, first using the regular battery, so when that runs out I no longer have the option of removing the modular bay battery unless I can plug in. For instance this means that at that point I cannot use the optical drive.

    Is there any way to tell the system which battery is #0 and which one is #1?

    Thanks for any help!
    -Krampusz

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,393
    Great question! I have a Dell D630 Latitude and have a bay battery (purchased when I had a D600) that is used before the main battery. As you seem to indicate that they have changed this behavior, then I agree it sucks! Contact Dell Support and see what they say. I would be interested to find out what you learn...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Exactly. I had a D630 before. I'll see what I can find out.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Great question! I have a Dell D630 Latitude and have a bay battery (purchased when I had a D600) that is used before the main battery. As you seem to indicate that they have changed this behavior, then I agree it sucks! Contact Dell Support and see what they say. I would be interested to find out what you learn...
    Well, this is what they said:

    >> CLKsmb_Gary_230607
    >> Unfortunately, there is no settings nor option for this model that will allow you change the behavior similar to the other system.

    I wonder if there is a software option to override the basic behavior. (By the way, I had already looked at the bios setup and there was nothing there to set. The guy at tech support may have just done the same).

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    tbh, it is probably futile to go on.
    It can very well be a hardware design decision by dell, not changeable by software.
    To prove or disaprove that, s/o with (micro)electronic knowledge would need to look at the board.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    tbh, it is probably futile to go on.
    It can very well be a hardware design decision by dell, not changeable by software.
    To prove or disaprove that, s/o with (micro)electronic knowledge would need to look at the board.
    I see. I guess I will just live with it. I have no desire to mess with the board. Thanks for the comments anyway.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •