Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am new to linux and trying to use Imaging Source CMOS USB camera on my laptop. The problem is it does not have any drivers for linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

UVCVIDEO patch for Imaging Source CMOS camera

Hello all,
    I am new to linux and trying to use Imaging Source CMOS USB camera on my laptop. The problem is it does not have any drivers for linux and upon some google search, this website provides a patch for uvcvideo to make this camera work(unicap-imaging.org/tis_devices_en .htm) Its a CMOS camera
    So, I followed all the steps, but when I use the patch it says 7 out of 7 HUNKS failed.
    Does anyone know why this is happening?

(Steps:
    Cloned git media_build repository as shown on the page.
    Downloaded patch
    $ patch < /home/myusername/Downloads/uvcvideo_add_tis_cmos.patch

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    I have sent a message to Imaging Source for more information, leveraging my business connections. Perhaps I'll be able to get some satisfaction for you, but no guarantees. Hopefully I will hear from them in a day or two.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Ok. The Imaging Source has been very cooperative in providing information about this. This is what I have found out from Scott Bradley, one of their support engineers.

1. They are working with the Linux kernel developers and the developers of the uvcvideo drivers to make these devices work "out-of-the-box".
    2. This is a work in progress, but when done, all USB video cameras such as theirs will work without problems.