Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello there! This is my first time posting here so I hope this is the correct category. I did a search first for this but I ended up empty handed, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Dual booting on a HP EliteBook 8760w

Hello there!

This is my first time posting here so I hope this is the correct category. I did a search first for this but I ended up empty handed, so here goes

I got an EliteBook 8760w from my company a few weeks ago, and my company demands that I have Windows 7 on it. But they don't have a problem with me dual booting Windows and Linux (as long as I can work in Windows when needed).

So I tried with installing Windows 7 first on one partition, and then Debian on another one.

But the problem now is, that when I reboot after the installation it tells me that there is no operating system installed.

I called the company that delivered the computer and they have no idea how to solve it, and when I try to get in contact with HP they simply tell me that they don't have any support for that computer at the moment (what the hell, right?).

I tried to install only Windows on it, which works, and then I tried with installing only Debian on it, which also works. It's only when I try to dual boot that it wont work.

FYI it's Debian Squeeze that I am trying to install.
    I have not tried to install testing on it.

Another issue right now that concerns "testing different solutions" is that I have a lot of work on the Windows installation now, and I can't risk screwing the machine up again by trying to install Debian.

So if I am to try it again, it will have to be a solution that has been tested before and works on the same machine, or if I create a backup of the whole partition some free weekend, and restore it if the same problem occurs.

Is there anyone who has a clue about this?