Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have an external ieee1394 hard drvie from LaCie. I am using slackware current / kernel 2.6.9, and I can't mount the drive. I have everything needed compliled as modules(i.e. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5

    External Firewire HDD won't mount


    I have an external ieee1394 hard drvie from LaCie.
    I am using slackware current / kernel 2.6.9, and I can't mount the drive.
    I have everything needed compliled as modules(i.e. ieee1394, ohci, sbp2) When I plug the drive in, this is what dmesg outputs.

    ohci1394: fw-host0: SelfID received, but NodeID invalid (probably new bus reset occurred): 0000FFC0
    ieee1394: Node added: ID:BUS[0-01:1023] GUID[00d04b3a1003c276]
    ieee1394: The root node is not cycle master capable; selecting a new root node and resetting...
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-01:1023 -> 0-00:1023
    ieee1394: Node changed: 0-00:1023 -> 0-01:1023
    sbp2: $Rev: 1219 $ Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
    scsi0 : SCSI emulation for IEEE-1394 SBP-2 Devices
    ieee1394: sbp2: Logged into SBP-2 device
    ieee1394: Node 0-00:1023: Max speed [S400] - Max payload [2048]
    Vendor: WDC WD16 Model: 00BB-00DWA0 Rev: 15.0
    Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 06
    Attached scsi generic sg0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0, type 0

    Seems ok ( I think )
    I then load sd_mod and this is what dmesg says.

    Attached scsi disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0


    However, when I try to mount /dev/sda1 it outputs this mesage.

    bash-3.00# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/hd
    mount: special device /dev/sda1 does not exist


    Any ideas? This is really frustrating.
    I would like to continue using the 2.6.x kernel, so going back to 2.4.x is not an option.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    It shouldn't be your kernel..

    if you
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    can you see your drive,

    are you trying this after the system is booted? sometimes auto-detect doesnt work properly... have you tryed this from an "off to on" mode?

    also you could try
    Code:
    mount -t auto /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    to try forcing it to mount (after you've tryed the other... since it tells you it doesnt exist)

    can you also
    Code:
    modprobe
    to make sure everything is loaded properly...
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5
    I tried that as well.
    fdisk -l
    returns only internal drive,
    Code:
     bash-3.00# fdisk -l 
    
    Disk /dev/hda&#58; 30.0 GB, 30005821440 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3648 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1               1         131     1052226   82  Linux swap
    /dev/hda2             132        3648    28250302+  83  Linux
    The drive contains a reiserfs.
    mount -t reiserfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/hd
    returns
    Code:
    bash-3.00# mount -t reiserfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/hd
    mount&#58; special device /dev/sda1 does not exist
    same output with fs=auto

    I do load my modules with modprobe -a
    I tried booting with the drive connected as well as connecting it after the machine was booted. Same results, and same output in dmesg.

    I am using a dell inspiron laptop.
    I also want to mention that I can mount this drive on my desktop, so there's no problem with the drive itself. This is the dmesg output from my desktop
    Code:
    eee1394&#58; Node changed&#58; 0-02&#58;1023 -> 0-01&#58;1023
    ieee1394&#58; The root node is not cycle master capable; selecting a new root node and resetting...
    ieee1394&#58; The root node is not cycle master capable; selecting a new root node and resetting...
    ieee1394&#58; The root node is not cycle master capable; selecting a new root node and resetting...
    ieee1394&#58; Error parsing configrom for node 0-01&#58;1023
    ieee1394&#58; Node changed&#58; 0-01&#58;1023 -> 0-02&#58;1023
    ieee1394&#58; Node suspended&#58; ID&#58;BUS&#91;0-01&#58;1023&#93;  GUID&#91;00d04b3a1003c276&#93;
    scsi6 &#58; SCSI emulation for IEEE-1394 SBP-2 Devices
    ieee1394&#58; sbp2&#58; Error logging into SBP-2 device - login timed-out
    sbp2&#58; probe of 00d04b431f051c6f-0 failed with error -16
    ieee1394&#58; Node added&#58; ID&#58;BUS&#91;0-01&#58;1023&#93;  GUID&#91;00d04b410e0aad84&#93;
    scsi7 &#58; SCSI emulation for IEEE-1394 SBP-2 Devices
    ieee1394&#58; sbp2&#58; Logged into SBP-2 device
    ieee1394&#58; Node 0-01&#58;1023&#58; Max speed &#91;S400&#93; - Max payload &#91;2048&#93;
      Vendor&#58; Maxtor 6  Model&#58; Y160P0            Rev&#58; YAR4
      Type&#58;   Direct-Access                      ANSI SCSI revision&#58; 06
    SCSI device sda&#58; 320173056 512-byte hdwr sectors &#40;163929 MB&#41;
    sda&#58; asking for cache data failed
    sda&#58; assuming drive cache&#58; write through
     sda&#58; sda1
    Attached scsi disk sda at scsi7, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
    scsi8 &#58; SCSI emulation for IEEE-1394 SBP-2 Devices
    I never see :
    sda: asking for cache data failed
    sda: assuming drive cache: write through
    sda: sda1
    Attached scsi disk sda at scsi7, channel 0, id 0, lun 0

    I know the answer is here, I'm just overlooking something trivial.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5
    I fixed it.
    Not sure how this happened, or if it will continue.
    I did
    Code:
    ls -l /dev/sda*
    This returned all sda devices, except /dev/sda and /dev/sda1.
    They were missing. (deleted?) I don't know.

    I looked at /proc/partions (after all ieee1394 modules loaded)
    returned this.
    Code:
    major minor  #blocks  name
    
       3     0   29302560 hda
       3     1    1052226 hda1
       3     2   28250302 hda2
       8     0  160086528 sda
       8     1  160079661 sda1
    So I did
    Code:
    mknod /dev/sda b 8 0
                mknod /dev/sda1 b 8 1
    Then issued my mount command and booya!
    back in buisness (for now)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •