Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello. total linux noob here. I have a dell inspiron 1200, 5 to 7 years old, i forget. it has windows xp3 on it. its 512 Ram, 60 GB hard ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question installing linux on a DELL INSPIRON 1200?

hello. total linux noob here. I have a dell inspiron 1200, 5 to 7 years old, i forget. it has windows xp3 on it.
    its 512 Ram, 60 GB hard drive, CELERON M processor.

it wasnt top of the line when i brought it. i just wanted a decent second computer. i normally keep it offline except for emergencies. i never ran a antivirus program regular like i should. now its so loaded with bugs it doesnt work. it crashes when i try to run the anti virus software, so now I am going to re format it and clean the hard drive.

i am seriously thinking about installing linux on the computer. i would like to, I need to know:
    1. which linux version should i use? i ordered a 1 gb Ram from dell, thursday, so that will be 1Gb of Ram instead of the 512 it has now.
    that is still not a lot of ram, though. I have used ubuntu lts on my vps server, but that is the only one i have used.

2. i need it to work with my brother's laser printer, my epson photo r320 printer, my epson scanner, the last two are about 5 years old, the laser is about 2 years oldm my wacom tablet, about 4 years old, and MYBOOK external hard drive. will i be able to use this hardware with linux?

i would like to use MS OFFICE 2003 suite on it, and adobe CS3 software primarily. i havent kept up with the latest open source software, can someone provide any feedback on this?
    thanks!

Linux Newbie
    Try out Mint or Ubuntu. I would try to use Linux native apps. MS OFFICE and adobe may work in wine but it is easier to install LibreOffice and Gimp.