Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
It's either a 750GB 7200RPM SATA hard drive, or a 256GB SSD. Which one should I use? Would the smaller SSD be worse than a larger regular hard drive? Or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Should I get a regular hard drive or an SSD?

It's either a 750GB 7200RPM SATA hard drive, or a 256GB SSD.

Which one should I use? Would the smaller SSD be worse than a larger regular hard drive? Or does the performance boost make up for this?

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by Chezziwick View Post
    Which one should I use? Would the smaller SSD be worse than a larger regular hard drive? Or does the performance boost make up for this?
    I've been using fast SSDs in a couple of my machines for the last two years now, and still run mechanical hard drives in four other machines. While I've had no issues with the SSDs, I still slightly prefer the regular hard drives. The main advantage to SSDs is the speed boost, silent operation, and the cooler running temps. They have a few disadvantages, too, but price still being the biggest. There's little doubt that mechanical hard disks will eventually be replaced with SSDs, but that all said, I ordered two more 7200 rpm regular hard disks just yesterday.
    oz

Just Joined!
    The specs on SSD's vary all over the place, I initially got a couple that were probably quite a bit slower than the HD's I was replacing. Caveat Emptor. My current desktop has a RAID 0 pair of OCZ Vertex-3 120GB drives. They do actually move things along. Check storargereview.com for their current recommendations. If you are on a budget the WD Caviar Black drives are a nice compromise.

Note that a fast SATA-3 SSD can saturate a SATA-2 connection. The only way around this is to upgrade to SATA-3 motherboard or adapter.

I still use one of the original slow Patriot 32GB drives in a car computer where speed really does not matter.

Just Joined!