Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
I tried upsc 3000@localhost and upsmon -c fsd commands for upsc 3000@localhost command I got the following output Code: login as: root root@192.168.101.31's password: Last login: Thu Oct 25 09:27:32 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160

    I tried upsc 3000@localhost and upsmon -c fsd commands

    for upsc 3000@localhost command I got the following output

    Code:
    login as: root
    root@192.168.101.31's password:
    Last login: Thu Oct 25 09:27:32 2012 from 192.168.101.47
    [root@proxy ~]# upsc 3000@localhost
    battery.capacity: 9.00
    battery.charge: 95
    battery.charge.low: 20
    battery.charge.restart: 0
    battery.energysave: no
    battery.protection: yes
    battery.runtime: 1829
    battery.type: PbAc
    battery.voltage: 81.0
    battery.voltage.nominal: 72
    device.mfr: MGE UPS SYSTEMS
    device.model: PULSAR M 3000
    device.serial: AQ2H1001F
    device.type: ups
    driver.name: usbhid-ups
    driver.parameter.pollfreq: 30
    driver.parameter.pollinterval: 2
    driver.parameter.port: auto
    driver.version: 2.6.5
    driver.version.data: MGE HID 1.31
    driver.version.internal: 0.37
    input.bypass.current: 0.00
    input.bypass.voltage: 232.0
    input.frequency: 50.0
    input.frequency.nominal: 50
    input.voltage: 232.0
    input.voltage.nominal: 230
    outlet.1.autoswitch.charge.low: 0
    outlet.1.delay.shutdown: 2147483647
    outlet.1.delay.start: 3
    outlet.1.desc: PowerShare Outlet 1
    outlet.1.id: 1
    outlet.1.status: on
    outlet.1.switchable: yes
    outlet.2.autoswitch.charge.low: 0
    outlet.2.delay.shutdown: 2147483647
    outlet.2.delay.start: 6
    outlet.2.desc: PowerShare Outlet 2
    outlet.2.id: 2
    outlet.2.status: on
    outlet.2.switchable: yes
    outlet.desc: Main Outlet
    outlet.id: 0
    outlet.switchable: yes
    output.current: 2.60
    output.frequency: 50.0
    output.frequency.nominal: 50
    output.powerfactor: 0.83
    output.voltage: 229.0
    output.voltage.nominal: 230
    ups.beeper.status: enabled
    ups.delay.shutdown: 20
    ups.delay.start: 30
    ups.firmware: SW: AH
    ups.load: 18
    ups.load.high: 100
    ups.mfr: MGE UPS SYSTEMS
    ups.model: PULSAR M 3000
    ups.power: 595
    ups.power.nominal: 3000
    ups.productid: ffff
    ups.realpower: 491
    ups.realpower.nominal: 2700
    ups.serial: AQ2H1001F
    ups.start.auto: yes
    ups.start.battery: yes
    ups.start.reboot: yes
    ups.status: OL CHRG
    ups.test.interval: 604800
    ups.test.result: Done and passed
    ups.timer.shutdown: 0
    ups.timer.start: 0
    ups.type: online
    ups.vendorid: 0463
    [root@proxy ~]#
    and when I try upsmon -c fsd command the Server shutdown and the UPS also disconnected from main power for a short time period but I think I'm in 80% margine of get this thing to work but I need the server to down after 5 minutes when the server is running from UPS battery

  2. #22
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by amithad View Post
    I need the server to down after 5 minutes when the server is running from UPS battery
    how long is waiting before shutting down now? the last time you posted your upsmon.conf file, you had
    Code:
    FINALDELAY 5
    that parameter is in seconds, so it would wait 5 seconds before shutting down. is that what you are seeing?

    for 5 minutes, try:
    Code:
    FINALDELAY 300

  3. #23
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160
    Yes Atreyu,

    I want 5 minutes to wait before shut down the server. But with my previous configurations (FINALDELAY 5) I waited for more than 5 seconds but the server did not shut down anyway I'll try this new value 300 also

    Thanks

  4. #24
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by amithad View Post
    I want 5 minutes to wait before shut down the server. But with my previous configurations (FINALDELAY 5) I waited for more than 5 seconds but the server did not shut down anyway I'll try this new value 300 also
    If it didn't work w/5, then I doubt it will work w/300. The problem must lie elsewhere.

    Maybe try the -D and -K options to upsmon:

    -D
    Raise the debugging level. upsmon will run in the foreground and prints information on stdout about the monitoring process. Use this
    multiple times for more details.

    -K
    Test for the shutdown flag. If it exists and contains the magic string from upsmon, then upsmon will exit with EXIT_SUCCESS. Any
    other condition will make upsmon exit with EXIT_FAILURE.

    You can test for a successful exit from upsmon -K in your shutdown scripts to know when to call upsdrvctl( to shut down the UPS.

  5. #25
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    If it didn't work w/5, then I doubt it will work w/300. The problem must lie elsewhere.

    Maybe try the -D and -K options to upsmon:

    -D
    Raise the debugging level. upsmon will run in the foreground and prints information on stdout about the monitoring process. Use this
    multiple times for more details.

    -K
    Test for the shutdown flag. If it exists and contains the magic string from upsmon, then upsmon will exit with EXIT_SUCCESS. Any
    other condition will make upsmon exit with EXIT_FAILURE.

    You can test for a successful exit from upsmon -K in your shutdown scripts to know when to call upsdrvctl( to shut down the UPS.
    Dear Atreyu

    For both commands ( upsmon -D and upsmon -K ) I get the following message

    Code:
    [root@proxy admin]# upsmon -D
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
    Fatal error: A previous upsmon instance is already running!
    Either stop the previous instance first, or use the 'reload' command.
    I have restarted the Server and checked the command but same results

    I have set chkconfig ups on command to start the UPS serverice when the server restart

  6. #26
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by amithad View Post
    For both commands ( upsmon -D and upsmon -K ) I get the following message

    Code:
    [root@proxy admin]# upsmon -D
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
    Fatal error: A previous upsmon instance is already running!
    Either stop the previous instance first, or use the 'reload' command.
    I have restarted the Server and checked the command but same results

    I have set chkconfig ups on command to start the UPS serverice when the server restart
    yeah, that makes sense, if the daemon is already running. shut it down first then try those commands. i'm not sure the command to shut down the daemon, maybe:
    Code:
    service ups stop
    failing that, you can get the pid of upsmon (using "ps auxw|grep upsmon") and kill it (with "kill -9 $PID").

  7. #27
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160
    Hu Atreyu,

    was able to run the command that you gave after stopping the ups software

    Code:
    [root@proxy ~]# service ups stop
    Stopping UPS monitor:                                      [  OK  ]
    Stopping upsd:                                             [  OK  ]
    Shutting down upsdrvctl:                                   [  OK  ]


    for upsmon -D command got the following output

    Code:
    [root@proxy ~]# upsmon -D
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
       0.000000     fopen /var/run/nut/upsmon.pid: No such file or directory
       0.004294     UPS: 3000@localhost (master) (power value 1)
       0.004408     Using power down flag file /etc/killpower
       0.004522     debug level is '1'
       0.006517     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
       0.014752     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
       0.014780     Communications with UPS 3000@localhost lost
    
    Broadcast message from nut@proxy.server (Tue Nov  6 18:13:15 2012):
    
    Communications with UPS 3000@localhost lost
       5.015166     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
       5.015432     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
       5.015444     UPS 3000@localhost is unavailable
    
    Broadcast message from nut@proxy.server (Tue Nov  6 18:13:20 2012):
    
    UPS 3000@localhost is unavailable
      10.015750     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
      10.015976     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
      15.016058     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
      15.016229     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
      20.016334     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
      20.016508     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
      25.016585     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
      25.016747     UPS [3000@localhost]: connect failed: Connection failure: Connection refused
    and for
    for upsmon -K command got the following output

    Code:
    [root@proxy ~]# upsmon -K
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
    kill: No such process
    UPS: 3000@localhost (master) (power value 1)
    Using power down flag file /etc/killpower
    Power down flag is not set
    [root@proxy ~]#

  8. #28
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    do you need to pass username and password args to the upsmon -D command, like in one of your previous posts in this thread?

    For the upson -K problem, do you need to have kill defined in a config file or something?

  9. #29
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    do you need to pass username and password args to the upsmon -D command, like in one of your previous posts in this thread?

    For the upson -K problem, do you need to have kill defined in a config file or something?
    I added POWERDOWNFLAG "/sbin/shutdown -P +0" line in the upsmon.conf file by commenting the #POWERDOWNFLAG /etc/ups/killpower line.

    then tried the previous commands

    result for upsmon -D command

    Code:
    [root@proxy ups]# upsmon -D
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
    kill: No such process
       0.000000     UPS: 3000@localhost (master) (power value 1)
       0.000134     Using power down flag file /sbin/shutdown -P +0
       0.000245     debug level is '1'
       0.001910     Trying to connect to UPS [3000@localhost]
       0.015047     Logged into UPS 3000@localhost
    result for upsmon -K command

    Code:
    [root@proxy ups]# upsmon -K
    Network UPS Tools upsmon 2.6.5
    kill: No such process
    UPS: 3000@localhost (master) (power value 1)
    Using power down flag file /sbin/shutdown -P +0
    Power down flag is not set
    Could you tell me a way to configure this powerdown flag. Since there is no /etc/ups/killpower file in the etc directory

  10. #30
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by amithad View Post
    I added POWERDOWNFLAG "/sbin/shutdown -P +0" line in the upsmon.conf file by commenting the #POWERDOWNFLAG /etc/ups/killpower line.
    I don't believe you are supposed to put a command (like "/sbin/shutdown") in POWERDOWNFLAG, I think you want that in SHUTDOWNCMD (which I think you do, from an earlier post). Re: POWERDOWNFLAG, see the man page for upsmon.conf:

    POWERDOWNFLAG filename
    upsmon creates this file when running in master mode when the UPS needs to be
    powered off. You should check for this file in your shutdown scripts and call
    upsdrvctl shutdown if it exists.

    Are you using the full path to shutdown (i.e., /sbin/shutdown) in your SHUTDOWNCMD?

    Also, when you do this command (assuming ups daemon is running):
    Code:
    upsmon -c fsd
    does the server EVER shut down?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •