Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ieuzwales
Alright guys & gals, Total Linux noob here, trying to bring to life some functionality to an old laptop shaped relic found in the cupboard & hoping to give it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Friggin' awkward wireless driver pr*ck 124a:168b AirVast PRISM3 WLAN

Alright guys & gals,

Total Linux noob here, trying to bring to life some functionality to an old laptop shaped relic found in the cupboard & hoping to give it (working) to a girl I like.

Installed Zorin OS 6 Lite (Lubuntu) on an ECS (Elite Group) A535.

It has a 124a:168b AirVast PRISM3 WLAN internally installed & I can't get the f*cker to behave/work.

I took advice from a couple of guides online the most helpful of which being research.indocisc.com/ecs/ (Linux on ECS A530) which shares the same poorly designed wireless connectivity.

Subsequently installed ndiswrapper & latest linux-wlan-ng (didn't attempt to tinker with wlan-ng 'cause of 'noobiness') which allows sometimes (when ethernet cable connected) to recognise wireless which finds networks & attempt to connect but doesn't get any further. Further deets are in the txt file below.

wireless_setup.txt

Does your system come with NetworkManager? If you don't have it installed, get it from your package manager.

Once it's in, make sure its running, and use that to connect to your wireless network.

It'll take care of all your network connection issues. The 'linux-wlan-ng' package contains the driver modules needed by your kernel for wifi chipset, so you need that installed too.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the speedy reply.

Yes NetworkManager is bundled with Zorin, as that's what allowed me to try to connect to a wireless network. linux-wlan-ng is installed again proven by the ability to get most of the way to connecting.