Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi, my webcam gives a dark green image in all apps including cheese and skype and I need to fix it. It was always like that (works fine in windows), ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Webcam (microdia) gives a dark green image in skype, cheese,all apps


    Hi, my webcam gives a dark green image in all apps including cheese and skype and I need to fix it. It was always like that (works fine in windows), sometimes when I was fiddling with options, the image cleared up and was ok for a while (like adding options gspca force_rgb=1 in modprobe.d) but a reboot later it went back to dark green which is frustrating. I remember that I was able to get a clear image a few months back with some tinkering but I've no idea what exactly to do. Please help. My webcam is
    Code:
    Bus 004 Device 002: ID 0c45:613c Microdia PC Camera (SN9C120)
    lsmod:
    Code:
    bnep                   18436  2 
    rfcomm                 47946  4 
    parport_pc             36962  0 
    ppdev                  17113  0 
    dm_crypt               23199  0 
    binfmt_misc            17540  1 
    btusb                  18600  1 
    snd_hda_codec_hdmi     32040  1 
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   330769  1 
    snd_hda_intel          33390  2 
    snd_hda_codec         104931  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    snd_hwdep              13668  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm                96714  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_seq_midi           13324  0 
    snd_rawmidi            30547  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event     14899  1 snd_seq_midi
    gspca_sonixj           33398  0 
    gspca_main             28314  1 gspca_sonixj
    videodev               92992  1 gspca_main
    v4l2_compat_ioctl32    17083  1 videodev
    snd_seq                61896  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    serio_raw              13166  0 
    snd_timer              29991  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device         14540  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    edac_core              53746  0 
    k10temp                13166  0 
    edac_mce_amd           23709  0 
    snd                    68266  14 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    bluetooth             166112  13 bnep,rfcomm,btusb
    sp5100_tco             13791  0 
    cdc_ether              13536  0 
    usbnet                 26212  1 cdc_ether
    i2c_piix4              13301  0 
    soundcore              12680  1 snd
    snd_page_alloc         18529  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    shpchp                 37345  0 
    lp                     17799  0 
    parport                46562  3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
    radeon               1016475  3 
    ttm                    76805  1 radeon
    usbhid                 47198  0 
    drm_kms_helper         42558  1 radeon
    hid                    95463  1 usbhid
    via_rhine              32192  0 
    wmi                    19256  0 
    drm                   236290  5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    pata_atiixp            13164  0 
    i2c_algo_bit           13423  1 radeon
    ahci                   26002  2 
    libahci                26861  1 ahci
    I would be very grateful if someone can help me with this to find a permanent fix. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Forgot to mention - Im on Ubuntu 11.10 also dual booting 12.04

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Welcome to the forums.
    Make sure the changes you made to modprobe.d are still there. You might try looking at other distros, if they work then make a note of what those distros use and try to apply that to Ubuntu. You can also try compiling your own kernel to see if that helps vs using Modules to run things.

    Try this and see if you can get a clue or two.
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -i gspca
    dmesg | grep -i v4l
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Welcome to the forums.
    Make sure the changes you made to modprobe.d are still there. You might try looking at other distros, if they work then make a note of what those distros use and try to apply that to Ubuntu. You can also try compiling your own kernel to see if that helps vs using Modules to run things.

    Try this and see if you can get a clue or two.
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -i gspca
    dmesg | grep -i v4l
    Hi, well modprobe.d still has the changes, but it's not working. I was reading this -
    Code:
    phoxis.org/2012/02/24/fix-dark-video-in-skype-for-linux/
    and by just installing guvcview and starting cheese, the video cleared up and was fine. But does anyone know of a way to make that exposure fix in the link permanent? Thanks,.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •