Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
So I'm trying to figure out how to mount this hard drive (because that's apparently what you do?), but I just cannot figure out what is going on in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need to mount external hdd to transfer files (complete newbie)

So I'm trying to figure out how to mount this hard drive (because that's apparently what you do?), but I just cannot figure out what is going on in the slightest.

Basically, I have a really old computer I put lubuntu on because a friend gave it to me to take apart/put back together. It had a virus on it and was completely dead. So this is my first experience with anything other than Windows except for the, I dunno, 3 times I've handled a Mac? This is not the computer I use though.

My external hard drive told me when I plugged it in that it needed to be reformatted. I just lost my other external hard drive recently, and this was my last hope of getting the information (I'd had it in both places, for the most part). I had no idea it would do this. I looked online and found a suggestion that maybe using Linux would work?

So I got a new hard drive (and that seems to auto mount), but I cannot for the life of me figure out what to do. I've looked at several tutorials that all go about things different ways, and not only did none of them seem to work, but I had no idea what any of them really meant in the first place. If someone could walk me through this or something, it would be much appreciated. I've got videos on here that I made 10 years ago and pictures from my only trip I've ever taken out of the country. I had them on two drives, and they both decided to die on me together (though in different ways).

I'm not even sure if it's possible to do this if it's... corrupted (or whatever's wrong with it). I'm just trying to find some sliver of hope.