Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have an nvidia Geforce gtx 260m graphics card. I was wondering if it would be possible to use a VGA monitor and an HDMI television alongside my laptop screen. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8

    Looking for triple monitor solution (VGA, HDMI, stock laptop screen)


    I have an nvidia Geforce gtx 260m graphics card. I was wondering if it would be possible to use a VGA monitor and an HDMI television alongside my laptop screen. I've been trying to get this to work for hours to no avail.

    Here's my xorg.conf:

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
        Screen      1  "Screen1" 1024 0
        Screen      2  "Screen2" RightOf "Screen1"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "COMPAQ 5017"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 61.0
        VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor1"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "HannStar Display Corp HSD160PHW1"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 75.0
        VertRefresh     60.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor2"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "DFP-1"
        HorizSync       14.0 - 68.0
        VertRefresh     48.0 - 62.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 260M"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device1"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 260M"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device2"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 260M"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          2
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "Stereo" "0"
        Option	   "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen1"
        Device         "Device1"
        Monitor        "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "Stereo" "0"
        Option	   "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {viewportin=1280x720, viewportout=1365x768+0+0}; DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {viewportin=1366x768, viewportout=1024x768+171+0}; DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {viewportin=800x600, viewportout=1024x768+171+0}; DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {viewportin=640x480, viewportout=1024x768+171+0}"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen2"
        Device         "Device2"
        Monitor        "Monitor2"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "Stereo" "0"
        Option	   "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select 1360x768 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
        Option         "Composite" "Enable"
        Option         "RANDR" "Enable"
    EndSection
    The best I've been able to do so far is 2 of the 3. Please let me know if you have any more information.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    With all the displays connected and turned on, have you rebooted and then run the nvidia-xconfig tool?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    With all the displays connected and turned on, have you rebooted and then run the nvidia-xconfig tool?
    Good suggestion. Also, I found that most nvidia cards before the 5xx (fermi) series could only have two monitors connected at a time.

    Try to connect all the monitors and use the nvidia-settings program under root. It should display all the available monitors to the hardware. If it only displays two, most likely that will be the limit of your hardware.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    Quote Originally Posted by gtrawoger View Post
    Good suggestion. Also, I found that most nvidia cards before the 5xx (fermi) series could only have two monitors connected at a time.

    Try to connect all the monitors and use the nvidia-settings program under root. It should display all the available monitors to the hardware. If it only displays two, most likely that will be the limit of your hardware.
    Your laptop hdmi connection should support two monitors, and the laptop screen as well. My Lenovo laptop w/ nVidia graphics will do so just fine. However, I don't think you can use the VGA, HDMI and laptop screens at the same time. Also, if your system is like mine, it also has an Intel GPU in the system, which you will have to disable in the BIOS.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for the help, guys! You're correct - I can only have two screens connected at once with my nVidia card.

    For the record,

    I tried nvidia-settings again and got the following error message:
    Code:
    MetaMode 1 of Screen 0 has more than 2 active display devices.
    Also, I found a reference [1] for nVidia cards older than the Kepler architecture (released March 22, 2012 [2]) not supporting more than 2 displays.

    I don't have the required number of posts to post URLs, but if anyone's really interested:
    1) us [dot] download [dot] nvidia [dot] com/XFree86/Linux-x86/302.17/README/configtwinview.html
    2) nvidianews [dot] nvidia [dot] com/Releases/NVIDIA-Launches-First-GeForce-GPUs-Based-on-Next-Generation-Kepler-Architecture-79b.aspx

    I should've searched a little harder ><

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •