Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
It may be possible, that sdc-sdf are in sleepmode and therefore not accessible. try Code: hdparm -C /dev/sdc hdparm -I /dev/sdc...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,377

    It may be possible, that sdc-sdf are in sleepmode and therefore not accessible.

    try
    Code:
    hdparm -C /dev/sdc
    hdparm -I /dev/sdc
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    It is a screen copy of the disk utility on my computer.

    Attachment 4921

  3. #13
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,377
    The screenshot is unreadable, use commands and text.
    If hdparm is not installed, do so via
    Code:
    sudo yum install hdparm
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    $ sudo hdparm -C /dev/sdc

    /dev/sdc:
    drive state is: unknown
    $ sudo hdparm -I /dev/sdc

    /dev/sdc:
    HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(identify) failed: Invalid exchange
    $

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    $ sudo yum install hdparm
    Code:
    Loaded plugins: product-id, refresh-packagekit, rhnplugin, security, subscription-manager
    This system is receiving updates from Red Hat Subscription Management.
    This system is not registered with RHN Classic or RHN Satellite.
    You can use rhn_register to register.
    RHN Satellite or RHN Classic support will be disabled.
    rhel-6-workstation-rhev-agent-rpms                                                                            | 2.8 kB     00:00     
    rhel-6-workstation-rpms                                                                                       | 3.7 kB     00:00     
    rhel-6-workstation-rpms/primary_db                                                                            |  20 MB     00:02     
    Setting up Install Process
    Package hdparm-9.16-3.4.el6.x86_64 already installed and latest version
    Nothing to do
    $
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 03-23-2013 at 04:25 AM. Reason: added code tags

  6. #16
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,377
    My guess is still with sleep mode or bad cabling or insufficient power.

    Maybe there is a tool on the WD site to control sleep mode for your discs.
    It may be something proprietary.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    Since all discs work well if I connect this enclosure to my windows 7 computer, should it be different on windows 7 and Linux?

  8. #18
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,377
    Did you actually write to and read back from the discs under windows?
    If this works, then this excludes cabling and power problems of the enclosure.

    The sleep mode may be addressed by the proprietary nature of windows drivers.

    The linux and windows boxes are two different machines?
    Then maybe there is an issue with the usb3 port on the linux machine.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    I just tried the enclosurer on windows 7. It do works well.

    The actions (all successed) include
    1) covert the discs format to GBT
    2) create simple volumn and format
    3) put some files into two of the five discs and then copied them out.

    the screen copy of my operations is
    htt p_ dl.dropbox.com/u/965530/PrintScreen.png

    The model number of the hdds is WD30EFRX. I also checked the office website of WD and I have not found any sleep model related software for this product.

    I have had formated the detectable disc on Linux previously, it also can be succussfully mounted and operated.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    14
    Yes. They are two indpendent computers. But I tried the USB 3.0 port on the Linux computer with a flash disc, it works well.

    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Did you actually write to and read back from the discs under windows?
    If this works, then this excludes cabling and power problems of the enclosure.

    The sleep mode may be addressed by the proprietary nature of windows drivers.

    The linux and windows boxes are two different machines?
    Then maybe there is an issue with the usb3 port on the linux machine.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •