Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
My linux machine recently died. This makes me a sad panda because I have been running linux since 1995 and like to have a linux system around. For my professional ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Brain Storming on Trying to Fix Dead Machine or Buy System

My linux machine recently died. This makes me a sad panda because I have been running linux since 1995 and like to have a linux system around. For my professional career I need word, so I also need at least one non-linux system, but I have always enjoyed using linux and interacting with the linux community.

The system had been powered off for two months while I was out of town on business. When I returned there were signs that water may have leaked somehow, though it this might not have happened. The machine worked for a little while, crashed hard twice, and then would not boot or post.

I had never really been a huge fan of the cooling system for my cpu (old AMD socket AM2 dual core), so I immediately thought the CPU might be fried. The machine had a faint odor when powered on, and made a disturbing high pitched buzzing sound. I removed the CPU and powered on to see if the sound and smell would disappear and so they did. There were no obvious signs of damage to the CPU.

Basically, I want to get a system running again and I do not want to spend much money.

I could try replace the fan for about fifteen dollars. This is low cost, but not likely to work in my view.

I could replace the CPU and fan for about fifty dollars. My concern is that the motherboard might be fried and I might just be flushing this money down the toilet.