Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi guys, im new to the world of Linux however have been working with OSX for a while now so I have found a lot of similarities with Linux. Anyways ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Ubuntu and AEGA Geforce graphics card

Hi guys, im new to the world of Linux however have been working with OSX for a while now so I have found a lot of similarities with Linux. Anyways I have been setting up a media server with Ubuntu Server 13.04, I had to install a new graphics card with HDMI support and went for an EVGA Geforce 210 card which seems to work relatively well. However my TV which it is connected to is a 50" plasma and its only seeing it as a 32" screen. Ive also noticed that when connected to the box with my laptop the new screen is very laggy and slow and was to me it seems like a driver issue.

I have followed some commands to purge the driver and install invidia driver from a repository through terminal, this did make a change to number of screen sizes I could select however the screen size still doesnt seem right and is still running quite slow when I am connected through VNC on my laptop.

My question is would I be better trying a different distro as I want the best possible picture and sound quality for my media server and screen resolution is important for my movies.

Many thanks

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.