Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I play on Windows 7 right now using this computer: core 2 duo e8600 1.86ghz nvidia geforce gt610 2gb 2gb ram For this computer what would be the best distro ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

best Linux Distro for me?

I play on Windows 7 right now using this computer:
    core 2 duo e8600 1.86ghz
    nvidia geforce gt610 2gb
    2gb ram

For this computer what would be the best distro of linux for good minecraft performance?

Just Joined!
    The short answer is it doesn't matter. If all you want is good minecraft performance you can pick any operating system and they will basically all work about the same. If you want to start learning about linux and how it works a good distro to start with is Ubuntu.

Hello and Welcome!
    I don't mess around with MineCraft, so I have no first hand experience to give. But I've heard good things about MineOS.
    Here is a little information on it: Mine OS - easy minecraft hosting solution
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    I'd suggest a lightweight distro that's easy on RAM. Lubuntu is a good one. I'm not sure if Linux Mint still comes in Xfce flavour, but that would be good too. Both of these distros would require little to any screwing around to get things working.

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by metrize View Post
    I play on Windows 7 right now using this computer:
    core 2 duo e8600 1.86ghz
    nvidia geforce gt610 2gb
    2gb ram

For this computer what would be the best distro of linux for good minecraft performance?
    Hi

I would recommand LinuxMint for any linux newcomer, It's one of the easiest to use, and because it's based on Ubuntu, you'll find easy support, packages, howtos...