Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Does this old system have USB 1.0 or 1.1? Reason I ask is because no matter how hard I try I can't get the USB/WiFi Adapter to work. It says ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question about Dell L866r Desktop computer.

Does this old system have USB 1.0 or 1.1? Reason I ask is because no matter how hard I try I can't get the USB/WiFi Adapter to work. It says it'll work with USB 2.0 and 1.1, I thought it was detected when I installed Peppermint 4 OS but when I did the reboot to the system my WiFi was DOA and no matter how much I put my SSID and password in it'd simply not find the WiFi.
    I just wonder if this old Dell is USB 1.0 in which case the USB/WiFi adapter won't work.

See if

Code:
    lsusb -v
    will tell you.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Sweet, thanks. ls(list) usb and -v I guess it volume or velocity,LOL. That's one thing I love about Linux, hit the Terminal and you an do a ton of stuff.
    I'm also thinking if the USB/WiFi adapter isn't going to work with her desktop I can always use it as a second WiFi connection with my laptop. It picked it up right off and since it's 802.11n it'd be faster then the installed WiFi card which is 802.11g, also with the little antenna it should give me a little more range as well. Anyway, I'll hit the Terminal and see what I get.

Quote Originally Posted by TNFrank View Post
    Sweet, thanks. ls(list) usb and -v I guess it volume or velocity,
    The v is for "verbose". You get a more detailed description of everything.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.