Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, I am sorry if this has been explained before, but i have not been able to find or fix my problem and am about to give up I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

GUI Crashing (suspected video driver issue)

Hello everyone,
    I am sorry if this has been explained before, but i have not been able to find or fix my problem and am about to give up I have recently decided to setup a computer for my nephew out of o lder parts from my past pc build. The mobo is an ASUS p5k with ATI Radeon 2900pro video card. I have tried Fedora, Mint, Ubuntu and all experience GUI lockups usually within 10 seconds of bootup. (this prevents me from installing Mint on the harddrive) I have done internet searches for fixes, and tried both the fxglr and open source drivers with the same results. I will openly admit this is my first time trying to run a Linux OS, but i am an experienced IT guy on windows OS. I may be missing something on the installing the driver, but i have tried countless tutorials on the console commands to setup these drivers (also included the a mesa driver) I recently pulled out my radeon 5750 and though it seemed better, the same crashes happen. I am beginning to think i may want to turn off some of the driver options such as vsync, and also to change my PCIe option to force PCIe v1 since that is what the mobo has. The problem is, i dont understand the linux kernel command structure enough to change any of the driver parameters and i didnt find a how to to do so. I can boot into a video safe mode from Ubuntu, but I am about to give up and throw windows XP on it, please helP!!!! I also tried installing an Arch based kernel as it appeared to have different radeon drivers, but Chakra and Antgos would not boot up the installer on my machine.

PLEASE HELP ME!!!
    thanks and God Bless,
    Stormtrupr