Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I just had a random shutdown (first one) and want to figure out it it was a power spike or a problem with my computer. Specs: Intel Celeron 2.0Ghz Two ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    Random Shutdown


    I just had a random shutdown (first one) and want to figure out it it was a power spike or a problem with my computer.

    Specs:
    Intel Celeron 2.0Ghz
    Two Hard drives
    One DVD drive
    NVidia GeForce FX5200
    300W (the company i bought it from says 400, but they are lying) Power Supply

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    is it just plugged into the wall, or do you have a surge protector/power strip or something?
    also, you should look into UPS if power surges are your problem.

  3. #3
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    2 surge protectors so it that it reaches the nearest outlet, it that bad?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    no it's good you have a surge protector.
    i know this might sound stupid, but is the PSU connected right/snugly/tightly to your computer's innards, and is the power cord plugged in tightly both at the surge protector and the PSU?

  6. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    that actually does make sense, i'll check on that. but is having a 300W Power Supply a problem?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    well, does your case have any mods? (like blinkenlights, cold cathode lights, led's, etc.)
    and did you install any extra fans or anything aftermarket?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by linkinp4rk410
    that actually does make sense, i'll check on that. but is having a 300W Power Supply a problem?
    Shouldn't be. What's the make and model?

    What kind of shutdown is it? Is it something telling the computer to initiate a shutdown (init 1 or whatever), the machine freezes, or you just completely lose power?

  9. #8
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    don't know the make and model. total loss of power occured. no shutdown process, just totally died. it was the only thing in my house (including other computers) to die, but was on a floor of my house where it is the only computer.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    113
    IDk how long you had you computer for, but something similar happened to me.... is your heatsink seated properly? I had a problem with my heatsink not giving enough pressure because I had it seated incorrectly. Also, I had my computer just shutdown once because of the PSU being bad. It just shut down, but the power LED was stil lit, as if it were still on, i tried another PSU, and it worked, so I bought a new PSU.
    http://fedora.rehat.com

    $> man woman
    $> Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •