Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
is it possible to install linux on a PCI IDE card my ide controller went bad on my motherboard and i was curious if you could install to a PCI ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560

    PCI IDE Card


    is it possible to install linux on a PCI IDE card my ide controller went bad on my motherboard and i was curious if you could install to a PCI IDE Card. so far i have had no luck.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Hmm.. I've never heard of it. Is buying a new motherboard not an option? Seems to me it would be easier to do that...
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    if i replace the motherboard the expense would be great for me right now. i have a dual cpu athlon board made by asus the A7M266-D. the cheapest i have found is 190 or so. i am broke right now and i have the card so i thought i would try. i have a athlon slot A motherboard but the processor is a 500 mhz and i want to get back to gaming so thats not real great for it.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Ah. Yes, dual proc boards aren't cheap. Well, if you have the card, give it a shot.. I can't see you losing anything by trying.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    i will try it and see. I dont get how that board can be twice the amount still since i bought the board two or three years ago and paid 160 yeesh
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  6. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    You may have to tell the BIOS to not use the onboard IDE chipset. You may also have to tell it to *use* an external (PCI) IDE controller. Just poke around in there if you're having problems.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •