Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Here is the deal... I have an HP Apollo 700 series workstation and the monitor died. I have a normal 15 inch monitor. Here is the problem.. The Apollo has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Union, SC
    Posts
    34

    Monitor Problems....


    Here is the deal... I have an HP Apollo 700 series workstation and the monitor died. I have a normal 15 inch monitor. Here is the problem.. The Apollo has a fixed frequency vid card that I can not change and it has a 3 BNC connection. I already know the monitor will support the res and freq of the vid card and I have the pin out of the monitor but I need to know if there is a way to seperate the sync and green signals since they are currently on the same wire, and also how to get the monitor to know it has a signal comming in. If anyone could help or atleast point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    Here the deal...NO. You need to find a good PCI video card plug it in. Turn off the onboard video from the BIOS and you will be good to go.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Union, SC
    Posts
    34

    PCI Video

    That is IMPOSSIBLE. The computer has no pci slots period. All components are proprietary even the HP-PA RISC processor. Therefore I can not cnage the vid card.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Nuremberg/Germany
    Posts
    22
    Hi.

    Maybe here you'll find a short section about your problem:
    http://www.tkk.fi/Misc/Electronics/f...gamonitor.html

    Regards,
    WalGrom

  5. #5
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287

    Re: PCI Video

    Quote Originally Posted by nwoods29321
    That is IMPOSSIBLE. The computer has no pci slots period. All components are proprietary even the HP-PA RISC processor. Therefore I can not cnage the vid card.
    Thank you for the more info, you may also want to check www.mpja.com for any connectors you might need to get and good luck with the re-wire job.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Union, SC
    Posts
    34

    Thanks

    Thanks for the help and info. I figured out what I need to do. Now it is a metter of getting the part and building a cable.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Union, SC
    Posts
    34

    Fixed...

    I have the problem fixed now.

    Without any rewiring or making a new cable.
    I just located another monitor.
    Thanx for the help though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •