Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, When I start chromium(game), the fps goes as low as 4 fps. Is it a problem with my video card???? Windows says my card is S3 graphics ProSavage DDR ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    21

    Driver for S3 graphics Prosavage DDR


    Hi,

    When I start chromium(game), the fps goes as low as 4 fps.

    Is it a problem with my video card????

    Windows says my card is
    S3 graphics ProSavage DDR
    But, linux detects it as
    S3 Prosavage KM133
    I tried the driver available at http://www.viaarena.com, but it was of no use. The fps is still very low. However, other X apps r working well.

    I get into trouble only when I start games like chromium, tux racer, maelstorm, etc.

    Video RAM: 32 MB.

    Where can I get the driver for my card?????


  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Make sure that the driver name is 'savage' in the xf86config file and that Option "NoAccel" is not set to 1
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    21
    I did it. Still nothing got better!

    Is changing to a compatible Graphics card the only way out???

  4. #4
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by chandru.in
    I did it. Still nothing got better!

    Is changing to a compatible Graphics card the only way out???
    Only an easy way

    It's nothing to worry about, I assure you. Try this link it might help...........

    Click me

    If that doesn't work you can try to automatically set up the graphics card. Here's the specs of you're card.............

    Name: S3 Graphics ProSavage DDR
    Manufactuer: S3 Graphics, inc.
    Chip Type: S3 Prosavage DDR
    DAC Type: S3 SDAC
    Approximate Total Memory: 32.0Mb

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    21

    Upgrade solved it

    Thanx a lot!!

    I recently upgraded to Slackware 10.1 and I'm having no trouble with the graphics.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    173
    I'm running Fedoa Core 4 with an onboard S3 Savage KM266, but I'm not a gamer like the guy above. I get the "jerky-ness" with my screen savers. I tried to loate the 'xf86config' with no luck. Is it named something else in FC4?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •