Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hi I'm having a problem getting my usb stick working on fedora core 3. When I plug it in I get - Apr 11 10:51:12 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sdb: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6

    problems with usb memory stick on fedora core 3


    hi
    I'm having a problem getting my usb stick working on fedora core 3.
    When I plug it in I get -
    Apr 11 10:51:12 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sdb: 2880 512-byte hdwr sectors (1 MB)
    Apr 11 10:51:12 galaxy kernel: sdb: Write Protect is off
    Apr 11 10:51:12 galaxy kernel: sdb: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 11 10:51:12 galaxy kernel: sdb: sdb1
    Apr 11 10:51:15 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sdb: 2880 512-byte hdwr sectors (1 MB)
    Apr 11 10:51:15 galaxy kernel: sdb: Write Protect is off
    Apr 11 10:51:15 galaxy kernel: sdb: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 11 10:51:15 galaxy kernel: sdb: sdb1

    so I try mounting that and it sees only 1mb.
    I tried fdisk -

    Disk /dev/sdb: 1 MB, 1474560 bytes
    1 heads, 3 sectors/track, 960 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 3 * 512 = 1536 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System



    Command (m for help): n
    Command action
    e extended
    p primary partition (1-4)
    p
    Partition number (1-4): 1
    First cylinder (2-960, default 2):
    Using default value 2
    Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (2-960, default 960):
    Using default value 960

    and also mke2fs

    mke2fs 1.36 (05-Feb-2005)
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=1024 (log=0)
    Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
    184 inodes, 1436 blocks
    71 blocks (4.94%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=1
    Maximum filesystem blocks=1572864
    1 block group
    8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
    184 inodes per group

    Writing inode tables: done
    Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

    but always /dev/sdb1 1408 19 1318 2% /media/floppy


    how can I get this to work as 128mb ? its fine on a windows box.
    Elaine

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    how odd. I use a 128mb USB mem stick with my FC3 with no bother. It gets automounted to /media/USB_DISK (the mountpoint seems to be created by the automounter, as it disappears when I unplug). I get an icon on the Gnome desktop (also KDE if I'm using that instead). No need to mount or anything. And no need to do any formating or make file systems.

    I do get some SCSI error messages, especially if I plug in before I have logged on. These get sent to the console (Ctrl Alt F1) as well as the syslog.

    So, sorry if this isn't the answer you were after, but res asured it does work with FC3.

    Have you had a look at the /media folder, which is where FC3 mounts such things as CDROMs, DVDs, USB disks, USB mem sticks, and floppy diskettes.

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Hi all,

    When I was using FC3, I never really had a problem with my USB memory stick (although sometimes it calculated the space wrong). I don't know if this will make a difference but maybe you could try unmounting and remounting the USB memory stick manually. I find sometimes just restarting or refreshing something tends to fix things (happened when I was using Windows - just restart and that would solve many of the weird problems).

    Hope that helps,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6
    hi

    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: Vendor: Model: USB DISK Pro Rev: PMAP
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 00
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sda: 250880 512-byte hdwr sectors (128 MB)
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sda: Write Protect is off
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sda: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sda: 250880 512-byte hdwr sectors (128 MB)
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sda: Write Protect is off
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sda: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sda: sda1
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: Attached scsi removable disk sda at scsi6, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: Vendor: Model: USB DISK Pro Rev: PMAP
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 00
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sdb: 2880 512-byte hdwr sectors (1 MB)
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy scsi.agent[31653]: disk at /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:07.2/usb1/1-2/1-2:1.0/host6/target6:0:0/6:0:0:0
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sdb: Write Protect is off
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sdb: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: SCSI device sdb: 2880 512-byte hdwr sectors (1 MB)
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sdb: Write Protect is off
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sdb: assuming drive cache: write through
    Apr 12 11:52:14 galaxy kernel: sdb: unknown partition table

    i don't get any luck mounting /dev/sda or /dev/sda1 though. In /media there is only floppy and cdrecorder and in /mnt nothing. There is also no /devices. I guess part the answer is its not sdb but sda but how do i get it mounted or is it already mounted somewhere ?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Hi cmap,

    How many usb ports do you have? If you have more than two, you might want to try /dev/sda2, /dev/sda3...all the way up to /dev/sda[num of usb ports - 1]

    Hope that helps,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6
    thanks but still no luck...

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2
    Do you have the latest udev, hal, hotplug, and other hardware-related package updates? I had a horrible time with hardware with a "stock" FC3 install. I had to read every description of every update and install all of the hardware/peripheral related updates. Now I can hotplug and automount my 40GB USB drive and my 128MB USB flash key drive.

    If your machine is up to date, then, well, good luck.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6
    yeah its totally patched up. given up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •