Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i searched in the forum but i didn't see a link for website to know if my creative's modem support in fedora 3 or not ... so i want to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51

    how can i find a link to creative modem


    i searched in the forum but i didn't see a link for website to know if my creative's modem support in fedora 3 or not ... so i want to download a driver to this modem

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    first place to look is http://www.linmodems.org . Check out their database link.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51
    i found the driver but....
    the modem's chipset is HSF and so i download the RPM driver for my distro (fedora 3) and kernel and i insttaled it by command:
    rpm -Uvh hsfconfig(version).rpm
    but i didn'r see the virtual file: /dev/ttySHSF
    and the next problem that when i come in the graphical interface (Gnome) i have the following message:
    (can't find the "localhost.localdomain" try to put it in /ets/hosts file)
    what''s the proplem... do i need to install kernel-source ... i looked for the kernel-source in the "Add/remove applications" but i coudn't find it

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    hmm, not sure what's happening there.

    Let's start with the question that I can answer. Kernel source (doubt if you actually need it) is NOT shipped with FDC3 (or 2), you need to get it from the net (try http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu.../core/updates/).

    As to the missing /dev/ not sure, do you need to reboot or do any "modprobe" type commands (not having used such a modem myself, I don't know)?

    As to the Gnome problem, let me get home to my PC (I'm at a library at the moment on a Windows PC), and I'll see what it says in my /etc/hosts.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51
    sorry i coudn't see my kernel-source-2.6.9-1.667 at the link above

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51
    i found the desired file ... kernel.2.6.9-1.667.src.rpm
    but what are the steps to install it ... so i need it to install nvidia driver
    on other hand there is no change in modem's driver

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51
    i can't open the hosts file it's not a text file also i haven't network card but in another machine with the same distro i can open it with cat commant so it's atext file and i have a network card in second

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    right, to install an rpm you do :-

    rpm -ihv filename.rpm

    You must be root (or su -) to do the rpm command. So, open a terminal, enter "su -" followed by the root password. Then change directory (cd) to the folder you have the rpm file in (such as "cd /home/myname" ). Then enter the rpm command.

    As to the /etc/hosts file. Make sure that you have the correct permissions (ie. go in as root or su - (as above)). Then edit it (I usual enter "gedit" at the superuser command line prompt, to get the Gnome editor with the root permissions). My hosts file looks like this :-

    Code:
    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1       localhost.localdomain   localhost
    A quick explanation, the TCP/IP address 127.0.0.1 is a special one, called the loop back address. This address is local to your PC, it is NEVER used on any network (LAN, Internet etc.). It is only used to give your PC a TVCPIP address that will always be available (cos it's on your PC).


    hope this helps

    Nerderello

    [/code]

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    51
    thanks... i installed kernel-source and correct the hosts file.. so i can come in gnome without problem ... i will try to install modem driver again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •