Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
is their anyway of fixing this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640

    is their anyway of fixing this?
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  2. #12
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Try installing gcc.

    urpmi gcc

    I am guessing, I am also unfamiliar with MDK, you might want to wait for someone with more experience with MDK.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    tried the command 10 seconds ago
    gave this:
    Code:
    bash: urpmi: command not found
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    You have to run urpmi as root. I don't remember if Mandrake comes with fluxbox, but I believe it does come with blackbox (very similar). You may want to fire up the Mandrake Control Center's software installation tool and do a search for them.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    ran the command as root and it said that everything was already installed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  7. #16
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    I just actually took a look at your error message, and it may be caused by your not having gcc-cpp or gcc-c++ installed. You should take a look for those packages in Mandrake Control Center; I believe that under Mandrake they are separated out.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    you are a Godsend

    i installed all 18 packages under that name and tested it with fluxbox

    there is, however a problem when using 'make'

    it says
    B_europeandate undeclared

    this was for something i don't remember
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  9. #18
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    An error like that often requires you to edit the sourcecode to fix it, which is not easy, especially when you're just starting out. You could try installing fluxbox via rpms you can get here: http://clanforums.dyndns.org/~david/linux/fluxbox/ or run blackbox (they're based on the same code if I remember correctly) which you can get via apt-get. Apt-get for Fedora is available here: http://freshrpms.net/apt/
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  10. #19
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Slackware with a 'lite' WM is a good suggestion for sure, but also Debian Woody shouldn't be too bad either, KDE/GNOME versions 1.x come standard & would give you a full featured desktop that's not too taxing on the hardware.

    Mandrake is way too heavy IMHO - i had that on my laptop (9.2 & 10) which is a PIII 500Mhz with 128MB RAM and it _still_ ran like a dog! installed Woody - smooooooth sailing.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  11. #20
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    how do you switch the window manager to Fluxbox from KDE?
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •