Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi, I am looking for a bios update a PCCchips M748LMRT . I'm trying to get it to support a 1 ghz Celeron processor. So far it can only go ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379

    Need bios update for PCChips M748LMRT


    Hi, I am looking for a bios update a PCCchips M748LMRT . I'm trying to get it to support a 1 ghz Celeron processor. So far it can only go to 800 mhz. Can someone please help me?

  2. #2
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    Check PC Chips USA web site, they have the latest bios up-date for your MB. It does not state what is in it, but they do have one.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  3. #3
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Actually they don't. They have a link but its broken

  4. #4
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    I am sorry to hear that, but before I last posted, I went to the web site and down loaded the driver with no problem.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  5. #5
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by zeeone
    I am sorry to hear that, but before I last posted, I went to the web site and down loaded the driver with no problem.
    Where at?

  6. #6
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    I found a BIOS update but guess what............I DON'T HAVE WINBLOWS!

    How the f%&k am I suppose to flash the BIOS when I can't open an exe file within Linux?

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Whitstable, Kent, England
    Posts
    136
    I wouldn't trust a PC Chips board, mine decided to die on me reuiring a replacement. I also had problems with BIOS updating, it wasn't very clear on the site so I did end up downloading the wrong one so disabled my board for a bit until I found an old version to flash it with. It ended up with me having an older BIOS version than I started with.
    The biggest security threat is the user.

  8. #8
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted
    I found a BIOS update but guess what............I DON'T HAVE WINBLOWS!

    How the f%&k am I suppose to flash the BIOS when I can't open an exe file within Linux?
    So did you even read the instruction on how to flash the BIOS?
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  9. #9
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Yeah. I managed to flash the bios using a hard drive that had Winblows on it but it turns out that the circuits on the board were wearing out because PCChips makes crappy boards. So the board caught on fire soon after I found the problem.

  10. #10
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    Funny, I say the same thing about ASUS boards.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •