Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Okay I need some help. I don't have windows and need to update my BIOS. The mainboard is a "TriGem Delhi III" . The BIOS I'm looking for is version ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379

    Updating BIOS using Linux


    Okay I need some help. I don't have windows and need to update my BIOS. The mainboard is a "TriGem Delhi III" . The BIOS I'm looking for is version 1.20. So far I've only found one but it's an exe file. I've never updated a BIOS in Linux only in Windows. Can someone help me?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a howto that might help:

    http://www.nenie.org/misc/flashbootcd.html

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Noplace Interesting
    Posts
    76
    speaking of which,
    Does anyone know how to make a backup of the bios settings from Linux?
    Perhaps even backing up the bios chip executable code itself?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozar
    Here's a howto that might help:

    http://www.nenie.org/misc/flashbootcd.html
    All that article has informed me is that it can't be done within Linux. At least not legally. Well I guess Linux really can't do everything after all. I'd rather buy Windows then waste my time going through with that. It's easier to do it on Windows and the chances are less that I'll screw up when compared to doing that.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Noplace Interesting
    Posts
    76
    it can't be done within Linux
    Hmmm, I'm not so sure. If the vendor provides a binary file including the code to go into the bios chip, there must be a way to replace the code in linux with a modified kernel or specialized program or something.

    It looks like someone has done just that-
    check out this, it looks promising ->
    http://www.openbios.org/

    Pay attention to the /dev/bios page - looks like you can backup and flash your bios from Linux - who knew?
    http://www.openbios.org/development/devbios.html

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    The /dev/bios interface is out of date.

    For up to date instructions for flashing a BIOS directly from linux see: Updating the BIOS using linux

  8. #7
    Linux User peteh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    341
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted View Post
    All that article has informed me is that it can't be done within Linux.
    I didn't think it could be done with Windows either. When I've done it I've always used a bootable floppy with DOS. I now have it on a bootable CD and as one of the articles said, I doubt that Microsoft would care that you have an old DOS disk.
    Pete

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •