Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to Linux but first I need to build a PC with parts that are compatible with Linux, so does anyone know a good way to check, or knows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Compatible Hardware

I'm new to Linux but first I need to build a PC with parts that are compatible with Linux, so does anyone know a good way to check, or knows a site that can help with this?

Right now I need to find a Linux Compatible : Mother Board, CPU, Hardrive, RAM, Vid Card, DVD-Rom or DVD-RW drive. I'm going to create a small system to learn linux (Im a fast learner) and maybe run an occasional game server or two.

Linux Enthusiast
    motherboard, cpu, harddrive, and ram shouldn't be a problem at all as i think all (or a very large percent) are supported.

vid card...anything nvidia would be great. ati's linux driver support is horrible, so try to avoid ati

dvd-rom and dvd-rw, i'm really not sure. i can tell you that my lite-on dvd-rom drive works fine, though

Just Joined!
    Thanks, Im going around looking at what I want to buy and checking their sites for drivers for Linux in an attempt to determine if they support Linux.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    I'm still having trouble finding a DVD Rom that supports Linux.

Linux User
    DVDRW shouldn't be a problem either, as long as you don't get little know nothing brands like Digital Research at the local Office Depot. Anything from a good manufacturer (note: I don't say brand) like Plextor, Pioneer, Toshiba, or NEC should be fine. Personally, I prefer Plextor where budget affords, and NEC or Toshiba where it doesn't. If you have doubt, you can always search google.com/linux for the make and model.