Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am an independent developer based in Mumbai, India. I am interested in enhancing Linux by writing device drivers for hardware on it. How can I procure datasheets/technical ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How can I procure datasheets for hardware?

Hello all,
    I am an independent developer based in Mumbai, India. I am interested in enhancing Linux by writing device drivers for hardware on it.
    How can I procure datasheets/technical documentation for the same? I am interested in SATA and SAS hardware.
    Do I need to speak with the company itself? If so, would I , as an independent developer, be able to procure datasheets? (I need to get details of the register set).
    Are there any other technical documents I need, for writing a device driver?
    PLease advise,

Thanks for any advice, tips.
    Highly appreciated.
    Regards,
    Kumar

Just Joined!
    Kumar,

I can answer you only the question

Are there any other technical documents I need, for writing a device driver?
    You need your microcontroller's data manual / programming manual, and samething for each external devices. But I suppose you asked a differenrent question, didn't you?

I don't have answer for your other questions but have a similar question.

I am neither an independant developers nor hardware engineer. I am working on embedded software. My hardware colleagues buy hardware components, make hardware, and provide datasheet for me. So I don't know all the fact behind it. And I wonder: