Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have 2 80GB hard drives, both SATA for WinXP. I have a CD-RW set as master on the Primary IDE, and a DVD-RW set as slave on the Primary ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215

    3 optical drives, 3 hard drives


    I have 2 80GB hard drives, both SATA for WinXP. I have a CD-RW set as master on the Primary IDE, and a DVD-RW set as slave on the Primary IDE. I then have a DVD drive set as slave on the secondary IDE and an 80GB ATA100 Western Digital Drive set as slave on the Secondary IDE.

    I can't seem to find this HDD, I can see the DVD. I wanted to install Linux to this drive. But I can't even get any of them to be seen upon boot. What am I doing wrong?

    Steve
    MCP | Network+

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Should I flip flop the IDE cables?
    MCP | Network+

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Are you using Cable Select or have you changed your jumpers to mirror the configuration? After that have you modified your settings in the BIOS?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Are you using Cable Select or have you changed your jumpers to mirror the configuration? After that have you modified your settings in the BIOS?
    I'm not using cable select, just slave. How do I configure the BIOS? It's an ASUS P4C800 MB.
    MCP | Network+

  6. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Wait you said you set both the DVD and the Hard Drive as slave on the secondary IDE - you can't do that, each IDE channel has one slave and one master. Check that setting and put the master on the end of the cable, and the slave on the connection in the middle of the ribbon.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Wait you said you set both the DVD and the Hard Drive as slave on the secondary IDE - you can't do that, each IDE channel has one slave and one master. Check that setting and put the master on the end of the cable, and the slave on the connection in the middle of the ribbon.
    Done, same problem. Some one told me you can't mix IDE and SATA
    MCP | Network+

  8. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I don't see why you couldn't mix IDE and SATA hard drives.
    People use IDE cdroms and SATA hard drives all the time.
    A hard drive is just a different medium than a cdrom.

    Did this person give you any evidence as to why you couldn't mix them?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #8
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Quote Originally Posted by COKE CAN
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Wait you said you set both the DVD and the Hard Drive as slave on the secondary IDE - you can't do that, each IDE channel has one slave and one master. Check that setting and put the master on the end of the cable, and the slave on the connection in the middle of the ribbon.
    Done, same problem. Some one told me you can't mix IDE and SATA
    In that case did you go into your BIOS and set the relevent IDE channel to Autodetect for next boot?

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    I don't see why you couldn't mix IDE and SATA hard drives.
    People use IDE cdroms and SATA hard drives all the time.
    A hard drive is just a different medium than a cdrom.

    Did this person give you any evidence as to why you couldn't mix them?
    Only that he has the same motherboard as me and he hit the same problem trying to connect the SATA after running IDE for quite some time.
    MCP | Network+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •