Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have two 4 GB hardrives. I have windows on one and plan to install linux on the other, but when I put both the HD the CDDrive didn't get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577

    Harddrives & CDRom Drive


    I have two 4 GB hardrives. I have windows on one and plan to install linux on the other, but when I put both the HD the CDDrive didn't get any power to it when I pushed the button the tray didn't open is there a way to fix this promblem

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    If the drive works, and if it's getting power (check the connector), during boot-up, you should be able to open the tray (does the light come on?). There are times during booting that the tray won't open, but at some point, before an OS gets launched, you should be able to open the tray. If not, after making sure the power connector is good (the ribbon cable doesn't matter here), try disconnecting other power users. If it works then, maybe you need more power than you have.

    Now if it's a really old CD drive, it may not open until the OS launches, but you probably don't have one that old!
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    Well the cd drive is pretty new and I don't think the light comes on when both HD drives are connected, the computer is kinda of old, so it might not have enough power, but with only one HD I can open the drive during boot

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Speed School of Engineering
    Posts
    267
    how big of a power supply does it have?

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    What do you mean by how big the power supply is

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    I believe how many watts it is.

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    577
    I don't know, it is an old computer, but I will check

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •