Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Somoene please help, im a noob to linux, installed Fedora Core 4 about a week ago and i cannot install anything, even more so.. my Audigy 2, Where can i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Audigy 2 install, cannot find detailed tutorial anywhere..

Somoene please help, im a noob to linux, installed Fedora Core 4 about a week ago and i cannot install anything, even more so.. my Audigy 2, Where can i get drivers/How do i install them????

Incase the architechture matters im running "x86_64"

I need someone to please point me in the right direction..

Any help will be well apprechiated

Darren

Linux Engineer
    The drivers for Audigy 2 are in the kernel. Open the console, become root, and do this: # modprobe emu10k1

That probes for the Audigy 2 driver. If it doesn't work, do an # insmod emu10k1
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

Just Joined!
    trying the # modprobe thing just made my terminal go down to the next line, is that correct?

when that happend nothing happend... the the soundcard detection said i had the right soundcard, BUT the sound didnt play...

i am so confused

Linux Newbie
    You may need to turn the volume up, this had me stumped for days... I don't know why the default volume is zero.

If you're using alsa you can use alsamixer to set the volume, and to save the mixer levels I *think* the command is alsactl store.

Quote Originally Posted by andrewdodd13
    and to save the mixer levels I *think* the command is alsactl store.
    That is correct.