Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Not exactly a Linux problem, but a hardware thing nontheless. I got a 160GB hd and expected a couple difficulties along the way, but this is just stupid. I've tried ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97

    160GB hd help


    Not exactly a Linux problem, but a hardware thing nontheless.

    I got a 160GB hd and expected a couple difficulties along the way, but this is just stupid. I've tried every jumper I have on every slot, I've hooked the drive as master and slave, I tried to partition it, but it will not get out of 32GB mode.

    Does anyone know how to get my full capacity?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    How old is the system that you're installing this drive in?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    I got it either last year or year before last. Quite new.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Check the BIOS.
    I believe it needs to be set to "Auto" instead of LBA or whatever it is at.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    It was set to auto. My hd's label said put it to LBA. None of them go over the 32GB limit

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    You need to check if there's a BIOS update for 48bit LBA for your motherobard and if that's not possible you'll need to buy a controller card that does support 48bit LBA.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    Ok my newest issue is the bios. I do not know how to update it- at all.

    I went to the site, downloaded a file which when executed, extracted more files. RUNME.bat was to be used in safe mode with command prompt or something like it. It did not work. I tried 'flashing' the bios with AWDFLASH.exe, but with no luck.

    Does anyone know how to help me now? I need to boot from a dvd and possibly fix my hard drive problem

    manufacturer: Abit
    chipset: SiS651/962L

  8. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Be careful when flashing your BIOS. If you do it improperly you could cause yourself some grief. Just make sure any BIOS update is the one intended for your motherboard, print out the instructions for installing the flash upgrade, and follow them exactly as instructed.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    It appears that the SiS651/962 doesn't natively support 48Bit LBA so updating your BIOS is not going to fix the issue. You will need a controller card to utilize the the 160GB drive.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    ok.

    1. will updating it at least let me boot with a DVD?
    1a. can you help me with my updating situation if it can?
    2. What is a controller card and how much does it cost?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •