Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
How do you guys flash firmwar/upgrade the BIOS if you don't have windows installed? Most of these utilities run under Windows. I mean is wine good enough/able to do this? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133

    Firmware / BIOS Flashing


    How do you guys flash firmwar/upgrade the BIOS if you don't have windows installed? Most of these utilities run under Windows. I mean is wine good enough/able to do this? I don't dual boot and I won't waste the HDD space on a windows install to get an occasional flash done. It's not very often and I haven't needed to as yet under linux but how has everyone gotten around this?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    I've always used a DRDos bootdisk because it doesn't load any drivers that could cause a corupted flash. I haven't found any firmware or BIOS update that didn't have a DOS based flash program.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Hmmm. Sounds like a plan except my laptop doesn't have a floppydrove. At least I'm looking in the right direction now...cheers.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Hmmm. Sounds like a plan except my laptop doesn't have a floppydrove. At least I'm looking in the right direction now...cheers.
    I've only seen BIOS updates for laptops. My T40 has a USB floppy which works fine for booting to DOS. The USB floppys are quite cheap @$20 at Walmart.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    I wonder if you could write the floppy image (using dd) to a partition and then boot that partition with Grub using chainloader? But $20 for a usb floppy drive sounds pretty good!
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    I may buy a floppy drive. You can use a bootable floppy image to make a bootable CD, but you need a floppy drive AFAIK Anyway, it's about time vendors sorted this out. Even Dell releases all of it's new BIOS upgrades as executables to be run from within the OS - pity the OS is just windows.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •