Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
hello my problem is that i put my olivetti 486 back together after about 6-10 months and it somehow had a problem come up. the problem is that it shows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640

    hardware hell (obviously a 486)


    hello

    my problem is that i put my olivetti 486 back together after about 6-10 months and it somehow had a problem come up.

    the problem is that it shows up (on the diagnostic LED display):

    Code:
    CMOS Periodic Init Err
    2 questions
    1. what does this mean?
    2. how do i fix it?

    i have looked around for a cmos reset jumper, and found a possible jumper, but i am not confident that it is the right one.

    any help would be appreciated

    weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    I suspect that the CMOS battery is low and the BIOS is not properly initializing. Replace the battery, boot, enter BIOS, modify setting as needed, and you should be good to go.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    i understand, however i dont know and cant seem to find the cmos battery

    EDIT: would you call a "Dallas Real Time clock chip" a cmos battery?
    i have a funny feeling that it is...
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    You didn't give the computer model but I did find manuals for the Olivetti.

    http://www.ics-finmek.com/ics/swtool...ls/System1.htm
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by Weedman
    i understand, however i dont know and cant seem to find the cmos battery

    EDIT: would you call a "Dallas Real Time clock chip" a cmos battery?
    i have a funny feeling that it is...
    No, it should be a thin battery the approximate size of US quarter.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    mine seems close enough to a M486 ESDI.

    it doesnt show a battery in the diagram...

    EDIT: i went and searched up the Dallas Clock chip and i found that it pretty much well is a cmos battery

    i dont know what the hell im doing now
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Does it look like this Dallas Clock chip is removable without de-soldering?

    Unless you're skilled at micro-minature repair I don't recommend trying to desolder and replace the chip as you can render the motherboard useless.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    yep, it looks like it will come out with a chip puller and not a soldering iron.

    i will add a Dallas clock chip to my shopping list.

    one last question
    What happens if the new clock chip doesnt work?
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    one last question
    What happens if the new clock chip doesnt work?
    A small quantity of C4??
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Check this thread, Weedman. Includes a link for Dallas clock chip for $20!
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •