Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I did a install of debian and I had no sound . I use a pci sound card model creative labs audigy zs but it comes up as SB . ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ocala, Fl
    Posts
    4

    No sound


    I did a install of debian and I had no sound . I use a pci sound card model creative labs audigy zs but it comes up as SB .

    lspci
    Code:
    0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8375 [KM266/KL266] Host Bridg e
    0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8633 [Apollo Pro266 AGP]
    0000:00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
    0000:00:08.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy MIDI/Game port (re v 04)
    0000:00:08.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04 )
    0000:00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Davicom Semiconductor, Inc. 21x4x DEC-Tulip co mpatible 10/100 Ethernet (rev 31)
    0000:00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Contr oller (rev 80)
    0000:00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Contr oller (rev 80)
    0000:00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Contr oller (rev 80)
    0000:00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
    0000:00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
    0000:00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT82 3x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 If [Ra deon 9000] (rev 01)
    0000:01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Radeon 9000]  (Secondary) (rev 01)
    I have tried drivers from alsa site but it seems my pci card isnt EMU10K1 so the install wounded work . If you have any ideas please let me know . Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    do you know what kernel you have?
    if not, run
    Code:
    uname -a
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ocala, Fl
    Posts
    4
    I'm running 2.4 .

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    trying installing alsa using prepared alsa modules (or you can make your own if you want more work )
    Debain Search Alsa Modules
    install them (it should make you install some other stuff too) then reboot or run
    Code:
     /etc/init.d/alsa start
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ocala, Fl
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Vergil83
    trying installing alsa using prepared alsa modules (or you can make your own if you want more work )
    Debain Search Alsa Modules
    install them (it should make you install some other stuff too) then reboot or run
    Code:
     /etc/init.d/alsa start
    I installed alsa modules for the 2.4kernal and ran /etc/init.d/alsa start . Which it said "setting up alsa .... done"
    I still tried to run and got no audio or capture device found . Debian can see its there but wont use it .

    Any more suggestions ?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    try running
    Code:
    alsaconf
    If it says app not found, install alsa-utils
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ocala, Fl
    Posts
    4
    OMG that alsaconf worked . Thanks so much for your help .

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by darkfusion
    OMG that alsaconf worked . Thanks so much for your help .
    you are quite welcome
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •