Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Ok, screwed up again..tried to partition my XP hd..so, now XP is gone, and have RH9 installed. the installer found all the hardware except the sound card.. So far, have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    RealTek AC97 sound card


    Ok, screwed up again..tried to partition my XP hd..so, now XP is gone, and have RH9 installed. the installer found all the hardware except the sound card..
    So far, have not found any info for getting the sound card to work.
    Any help ?

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    Try running sndconfig as root. It should find and reinstall your sound card...
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    sndconfig

    CopperTop: thanks, but, "whereis" doesn't show it...I think I have to install it from the CD's....will try that tonight when I get home from work..

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    sndconfig

    ok, got sndconfig installed..but, it says the RealTek AC'97 is not supported....so, back to the drawing board..thanks all

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    you could recompile your kernel with the code for that card built into it instead of as a module..
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    do a "lspci | grep audio" and paste that line in here..

    Good luck

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    lspci | grep audio

    it just says "command not found"..but, I could be in the wrong directory or some such..

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    lspci quote

    [james@localhost james]$ /sbin/lspci

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82865G [Springdale-G] Chipset Host Bridge (rev
    02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 2571 (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB USB (Hub #1) (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB USB (Hub #2) (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB USB (Hub #3) (rev 02)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB USB EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB USB EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA/CA/DB PCI Bridge (rev c2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801EB ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801EB ICH5 IDE (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801EB SMBus (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB AC'97 Audio (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP
    8x] (rev a2)
    02:0b.0 Communication controller: Lucent Microelectronics LT WinModem (rev 02)
    02:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
    02:0f.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    [
    I was right..wrong location..sorry..

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    The RealTek card is your ehernet card, no wounder it doesnt work.. :P

    I'm not at my computer atm, but try to modprobe the i810_audio module and tell me if its not working. To check its working, do this "cat /dev/urandom > /dev/dsp" and if your speakers starts to beep, its working. Kill it by ctrl-c

    Note: when you are doing some tasks, like lspci and using commands in /sbin etc, you should become root by "su -" (dont forget the - or else you wont get root's paths). So you can type "modprobe, lspci, init" etc etc

    Good luck

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    11

    AC'97 sound card..

    Kriss: the ethrenet card is working just fine..and the hardware browser see's the Intel 82801EB sound chip, but, it say's it's not supported..read line 00:1f.5 of the print out..I believe that's the sound chip...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •