Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I've got an old computer I want to run some kind of Linux on. The problem is that it doesn't have much memory or anything else. So I want to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Roskilde, Denmark
    Posts
    93

    Linux with low system requirements


    I've got an old computer I want to run some kind of Linux on. The problem is that it doesn't have much memory or anything else.
    So I want to hear if anyone knows a distro with low system requirements(see below).

    about 1GB harddisk
    200 MHz
    A 32 MB RAM card (but knoppix says around 16MB. Don't know why)

    If I want to put more memory in it, it is important that its the same kind (eg. SD, DDR...) right?
    The one in it is an SD, but I have some old one with the text "DIMM" on it. Is that a special type too? What happens if I mix them?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    You might want to look into damn small linux which is 50MB in size and is very light, or maybe even vector linux.

    This question has been asked many times before, and I advise you to search the forums since we don't realy want to much of the same stuff recycled all the time.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    Take a look at Vector Linux. Here's a quote for System requirements http://www.vectorlinux.com/mod.php?m...e_id=6&menu=14

    1. System Requirements
    ======================

    - VectorLinux 4.3 Download Edition (minimum requirements):

    Pentium Classic 166 MHz
    32 MB of RAM
    At least 835 MB free of hard disk space plus 64 MB of swap space.

    To have a more comfortable experience with VectorLinux 4.3 we would recommend a 233 MHz (MMX) processor with 64 MB of memory as a minimum.
    It's light weight but still full featured.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Definitely DSL, cos vector is a little heavier than it, and DSL will always be smaller than 50mb, and very, very light.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Roskilde, Denmark
    Posts
    93
    This question has been asked many times before, and I advise you to search the forums since we don't realy want to much of the same stuff recycled all the time.
    Sorry. I tried distrowatch and linux.org, but didn't find anything. I should probably have looked a little more...

    About the suggestions, does any of them use KDE? Or is it to heavy?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    KDE is the heaviest app I've ever used, you might be able to get it to run, but it will be damn sloooww, most come with light Window Managers (WM) such as Fluxbox and Blackbox, both of these should run okay on your system.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Roskilde, Denmark
    Posts
    93
    I looked at DSL's homepage. It looks good, but I found out, that it was mainly ment as a live cd.
    Do you know what way is the best to install it to the harddisk?
    Is it necesary to run the live-cd to install it? Because I don't think the machine has enough memory for that.

  9. #8
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    right click on the desktop, apps menu then tools then about 3/4 of the way down there is an option to install to hard drive. i've done it it works great.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Roskilde, Denmark
    Posts
    93
    right click on the desktop, apps menu then tools then about 3/4 of the way down there is an option to install to hard drive. i've done it it works great.
    So this means I have to run the live cd, right?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Yup, remember DSL is VERY light, and thus it should cope with your comp's specs.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •