Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi again! I have another question. I am trying to setup my winmodem (or linmodem) which is a Lucent chipset. I have detected the chip and installed the package for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37

    LinModem install issue...


    Hi again!

    I have another question.


    I am trying to setup my winmodem (or linmodem) which is a Lucent chipset. I have detected the chip and installed the package for my kernel version (2.4.20_ but still can't get it to be detected by the system.

    When detecting the modem chipset there are 2 lines that confuse me.
    One is gcc: no
    and cc: no

    (If I recall correctly). I also installed the i686 rpm instead of the i386 rpm.
    Does this make much of a difference?
    When I try to install the i386 rpm I get an "already installed" message but can't find out where to remove the i686.

    Does anyone know how I can resolve this as I wouldn't mind some internet at home!
    also, what is gcc?

    Thanks!

    Chris

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie Darl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada/BC/Kelowna/Home
    Posts
    130
    I believe
    cc = C Compiler
    gcc = Gnu C Compiler.

    If you get 'no' on both, you definitely need a C Compiler of some sort. It should be on your install cd's.
    The other stuff I'm not sure about....

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    I need that to install an RPM?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie Darl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada/BC/Kelowna/Home
    Posts
    130
    Sorry, I was thinking .tar.gz
    I can't say for sure whether you need a cc to install an rpm.
    But if you have the cd's might as well give it a try....
    Regardless, I figure someone who really knows this stuff will come along soon

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    37
    Thanks Darl!

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    i dont know if you have finished getting your winmodem working or not and i dont know if you have already taken alook at this but here it is anyway

    http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/viewtopic.php?t=721

    hope this helps
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •