Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi folks I'm new to linux and using it in a work environment... I have a Nvidia Quadro FX 1400 graphics card but I've lost the driver... when I try ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help... nvidia driver lost

Hi folks

I'm new to linux and using it in a work environment... I have a Nvidia Quadro FX 1400 graphics card but I've lost the driver... when I try to open one of my graphics packages I get an error saying

GLX missing on display :0.0

I've looked around a few site and they all mention an xorg.conf file that should reisde in /etc/X11... This file does not exist on my installation (The installation was done prior to my arrival). I do have a file called XF86Config which has also been mentioned. I'm just a bit confused as to what I should do to get my drivers back.

Any information would be appreciated.

H

You could just reinstall your drivers and edit your XF86Config (or XF86Config-4, whichever you have).

http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d..._1.0-7676.html
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Tried to edit the XFree86Config file, but now I've got a permanent hang on start up... I can't even get to a console... what do I do!?!

Doh!

Apparently your system is set to runlevel 5 (graphical boot), so it's trying to start up X Windows at boot. You might try booting into runlevel 3 until you figure out what's wrong with your video settings. There are a couple of ways to do this:

1.Pass a "3" parameter to Grub at boot.

2.Edit your /etc/inittab and look for a section like this:
    Code:
    id:5:initdefault
    Change the 5 to a 3, save, and reboot.
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    Great idea... but how do I tell Grub how to do this... I can't seem to load the kernel. I know the partition, but not the absolute path to the kernel... is ther a default I'm not aware of?