Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Anyway I have a nice fresh ( 4th time of install ) installation of mandrake 9.1 which supports the usb speedtouch modem well up to a point after I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7

    USB Speedtouch 330 Modem & Mandrake 9.1


    Anyway I have a nice fresh ( 4th time of install ) installation of mandrake 9.1 which supports the usb speedtouch modem well up to a point after I have gone through the wizzard it says need mgmt.o file in /usr/share/speedtouch .... so i got the alcaudsl.sys file from my winders box renamed it and tried that " only tried that because a how to document said you could " and it did not work so I got the proper mgmt.o file and replaced the renamed winders one..... but it still wont connect hence all the installes im trying to get it to work from a fresh install every time....the next thing I tried was the how to from sourceforge but the document is 18 months old and when I get to the point of inputting ./configure && make I recieve an error saying "error no such file or directory" :banghead: ive been at this for a week now iny ideas where im going wrong... My isp is freeserve using PPPoA with VCMUX encapsulation modem type is set to POTS and mode is Gdmt.A under winders.....please help im pulling my hair out or at least point me in the right direction and not at the sourceforge how to I have it printed out with its last modification of 7th-May-2002...... it's really driving me nuts this thing at the moment....I do have an internal PCI dsl modem made by MrI but that does not even see a dsl line for some reason it does in the shop on their kit but not at my home....why are the good things in life difficult to get and hard to accomplish.....

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    pppoa? I've never heard of that one before, could it be pppoe? If it is, then its fairly easy to set up ( presuming that you have a working NIC ). Check out www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe

    was it this one you just found?:
    http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net/SpeedTouch/

    If so, could you paste the last 5-10 lines that the configure script outputs? I really don't think that the document beeing old is any dangeroues, on tlip.org you can find some documents that are some years old but still worth reading today..

    Good luck

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss
    pppoa? I've never heard of that one before, could it be pppoe? If it is, then its fairly easy to set up ( presuming that you have a working NIC ). Check out www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe

    was it this one you just found?:
    http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net/SpeedTouch/

    If so, could you paste the last 5-10 lines that the configure script outputs? I really don't think that the document beeing old is any dangeroues, on tlip.org you can find some documents that are some years old but still worth reading today..

    Good luck
    The PPPoA is PPPo ATM the BT standard in the UK their for most DSL service providers have to supply the PPPoA here... in answer to the How to's yes I found the http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net/SpeedTouch/ one and http://documents.dhs.net.ru/handbook/pppoa.html also this one http://www.xs4all.nl/~pschram/english.html....I did not say they were dangerous I was only commenting that with the newer kernals and usb support that they can send you in the wrong direction...also i was wondering when I do the ./configure && make I get an error saying "error no such file or directory" that is all it does can't figure that one out....I will get any required error messages or script files you require..thanks for the help btw

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    when you do the ./configure etc, this is actually AFTER youve downloaded something (a .tar.gz?), UNZIPPED IT, then CHANGED to that directory?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    yes I do this

    I open my home directory....then open a console window.

    I then type "tar xvzf SpeedTouch.tar.gz"

    then I do a "cd\SpeedTouch" which puts me into the Speedtouch directory with in my home area but when I type "./configure $$ make" nothing happens except for the error message "error no such file or directory" which leaves me confused.....the speach marks are only to highlighte what I type not used when in the console by the way....thanks for the help.

    When I do manage to get it right and working im going to do a fresh install just to ensure I have no bad code from all the diffrent attempts of trying to get the modem working and get it working first time on a fresh install...

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    ok...

    What file exactly is it that your trying to install? Do you have a link to a page where i can download it from?

    Jason

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Its the driver from sourceforge named SpeedTouch.tar.gz file after i dl it I can unpack it but after that I just get no where...

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net/Spe...ocs/howto.html

    Looks like a fairly good howto, maybe that one can give you some pointers?

    Good luck

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Kriss
    http://linux-usb.sourceforge.net/SpeedTouch/docs/howto.html

    Looks like a fairly good howto, maybe that one can give you some pointers?

    Good luck
    that is the one I am currently trying to use but it is not working as I get an error at the " ./configure && make " point the error I recieve is as follows and I quote " no such file or directory " this is after i have cd to the directory where the files have been unpacked to.....

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    skip the "configure" part, it doesnt seem to need it, try just to use "make && su -c "make install""

    Good luck

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •